Showing posts with label fox. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fox. Show all posts

21 January, 2013

Furycast 63 - FOX is Not a Real Network


Jess and Magnus discuss CHUCK (way too much), NEW GIRL, HAPPY ENDINGS, PARKS AND RECREATION, ARCHER, plus some other stuff... like how FOX is not a real network... ummm... Viggo Mortensen... what else? Racism in the industry... look, it is an hour long. It is bound to cover a lot of stuff that I can't remember. Just let it be people! Let it be!

WARNING: this is essentially an unedited podcast. Only 12 seconds at the beginning and 10 at the end were cut out. So if we relieve ourselves or drink water or stop talking for a minute... it is all there. ENJOY!

To listen, press play below.


You can also DOWNLOAD THE MP3 VERSION by right clicking that link and then saving the file to your hard drive so that you can do with it as you wish. I don't want to know. Just do it. In the privacy of your own home.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

26 September, 2012

Rating the FOX Tuesday Comedy Block Premiere (2012)



Here are my quick reactions to the premiere Tuesday FOX comedy block.

NEW GIRL

Episode 1
Schmidt's penis escapes its cast and so he puts on a party. Jess gets fired.

90 out of 100

Oh look... another show breaks up a romantic pairing in the off-season and it makes no fuckin' sense. Otherwise I laughed a lot and there was some fantastically silly dialogue.

Episode 2
Jess whores herself out to different dudes and pretends to be Katie. Schmidt tries to nail Winston's sister. Nick meets his future self.

88 out of 100

Nick believing he met his future self bit was perfect. Jess trying to juggle multiple men and Schmidt trying to nail Winston's sister bit was less successful, though it had some terrific dialogue.

Jess: I had the best sex of my life last night.
Nick: Oh so that was you? I thought it was a couple bums fighting.
Jess: It wasn't. It was me. Having sex. I left my body, went up to heaven, saw my grandparents, thought it was weird that I saw my grandparents, came back down. I became a werewolf, I scared some teenagers. I came back into my body. Only thing is, he thinks my name is Katie and that I'm a dancer and or something involving puppets. 

BEN AND KATE

Ben is a lovable idiot. Kate is a lovable twit.

82 out of 100

It was okay but I feel like I've seen this type of show before and done better. Though, that little kid is ADORABLE! I may just stick around for her because she's also a pretty good actor. And we rarely see good child actors who are ADORABLE.

THE MINDY PROJECT

I love Mindy Kaling. She plays a neurotic doctor who can't find love... or something. She's goofy. Fast talking. Craycray. I love her! But I fear the show may be too good for network TV. Should be on HBO or Showtime.

92 out of 100

I really want this show to do well and to see more NBC stars appear because we all know FOX wants nothing more than to steal everything that is successful away from NBC because Kevin Reilly is still burning mad about being fired by the Peacock.

Huh huh... I said cock.


CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

02 November, 2011

NEW GIRL 1.04: Show And Tell


I cannot tell a lie, I LOVE this little show on FOX called NEW GIRL. I fell in love with it when I saw the pilot episode, and even when they replaced "Coach" (whyyyy!??!?!) with a guy not as interesting in episode 2, I still loved the show (but in slight protest).

But why haven't I written about it outside of my initial impression of the pilot? Well, because I was sooooo in love with the main character that I just done forgot, damn! But here is my first real write-up of an episode of... NEW GIRL.

As usual, I don't do episode recaps like normal people, so here we go.

In this episode Jess accidentally sees Jeff's wang and laughs like a freakish alien-bird. This messes Nick up so much that when he tries to nail some hottie, he can't even take his clothes off. He is that mortified by the experience. Meanwhile, Schmidt realizes he is the only one who hasn't seen Nick's gigantic schlong and so he goes on a mission to put it in his mouth. Or, something. Butt maybe? I don't know.

And I am already bored so let's get to some of my favorite quotable moments:

After walking in on "the dudes" watching a scary movie and depositing herself on the couch with them, Jess has a brilliant idea.
Jess: You know what we should watch? Have you guys ever seen FAME? It's about a group of dreamers with talent to spare, taking New York City by storm, one dance number at a time.

Nick talks to Schmidt about the girl, Amanda, he is going out on a date with, who has this strange way of approaching discussions with him.
Nick: Sometimes she is so ironic, that I think she is being serious.

Jess walks in on the conversation and tries to help with advice.
Jess: You've a date? Fun! I wanna talk to you guys about this stuff.
Schmidt: With Amanda.
Nick: Schmidt!
Jess: Amanda? From the bar? Woah! She's a looker. Hotchee muchee.
Nick: Yeah, I know how hot she is, Jess.
Jess: Have you been out with anyone since Caroline?
Nick: No.
Jess: Woah! Big deal alert! Scary stuff, kids. Yeesh! Falling rocks. Bridge out. Duck!
Nick: This is why I don't talk to you, Jess.
Schmidt: Nick, you're going to be fine. Don't worry about it. Just, you know, suck in the gut.
Nick: What gut?
Jess: (pointing at Nick's stomach) The little pooch where you keep your extra cookies.

After Jess walks in on Nick dancing with his massive member flinging out into the open air, she tries to explain to the other roommates what happened.
Jess: Something's happened. It was totally an accident. Not a big deal. I just wanna do the mature thing and come clean about it. But, ummmm... I accidentally saw Nick's peepee.
Schmidt: What?!
Winston: What did she say?!
Jess: I accidentally saw Nick's peepee and his bubbles.

Nick leaves the apartment after Jess' failed attempt at talking to him about what happened. She is distraught but Winston tries to dismiss it.
Winston: It's not a big deal. I've seen Nick's stuff like a million times.
Schmidt: You have? I mean, how?
Winston: We grew up together. Locker rooms, swimming pools, penis fights, it just happens.
Schmidt: Why haven't I seen it?
Winston: Why do you wanna see it?
Schmidt: He's my best friend.
Winston: Again, why do you wanna see it?
Schmidt: What if Nick gets into an accident? What if he is horribly disfigured and I have to identify him and all that remains are his private parts. And I'm standing there and I'm saying 'Sorry, officer, I can't help you because no, I haven't seen his penis' and then boom, he's buried in an unmarked grave.

Jess explains that when she walked in on Nick and saw his throbbing monster, she laughed.
Schmidt: Jess, you can't laugh at a naked man. Especially Nick. Nick is delicate. Like a flower. Like a chubby, damaged flower who hates himself.

Jess tries to talk to Nick about the issue the following day but he just runs away from her. Eventually she is able to corner him in the elevator.
Nick: You ruined my date! Every time I tried to take my clothes off, Jess, I heard your little 'HAHAH!' your little crazy giggle scream. And all I wanna do is have meaningless sex with a beautiful woman who, yes, talks in mind bending riddles, but I can't! Because I can't get your little 'AHHHHH!' out of my head!

After Nick escapes Jess, he tries to use the urination apparatus when Schmidt suddenly pops up above him, trying to get a gander at his master blaster.
Schmidt: I'm the only one who hasn't seen it.
Nick: What?!
Schmidt: Just the gun.
Nick: No!
Schmidt: Just the roses.
Nick: What?!
Schmidt: Just the hub. Where it connects.
Nick: Get out!
Schmidt: Fine! I thought we were best friends.
Nick: We are.
Schmidt: Apparently not.
Nick: Best friends don't do this, Schmidt.
Schmidt: They do it all the time!

So what did you think? Is this the greatest show ever, or are you in Alan Sepinwall's camp of dead-inside homicidal sociopaths who don't love adorkable stuff?

If I had to rate it, with the last episode still fresh in my mind even though it was a month ago, I would give this episode a solid:

90 out of 100.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

08 October, 2011

FRINGE 4.03 - Bored to Death... returns to HBO this Monday!


There comes a time in every young man's life when he asks himself "Do I give a shit about this shit?"

What does that have to do with the latest episode of FRINGE? Probably something but I forgot where I was going with that. More after the jump.

Whatever that means.

I have always found the case-of-the-week bullshit on FRINGE to be at worst holy-fuckin-shit-stupid, and at best almost interesting. So the fact that this season has delivered three wholly useless COTW's, means I find myself slowly disconnecting with the entirety of the grander arc.

Sure, I was happy to see Peter's imprint on the world was still around in episode 1, and to see him literally affecting someone in that world in episode 2, and I was also excited about the affect it was having on Walt in episode 3. But in all those episodes the thrill of this story arc hunt was kneed in the ballzies by filler COTW junk. And I can only take so much of that before it grates on me. In seasons 1 and at least half of season 2, I found myself fast forwarding through episodes because of this issue, but it mostly stopped in season 3 when they found a nice mix of barely dealing with any more COTW's while diving head-first into actual kick-ass too-cool-for-idiots story shit.

And so episode 4.03 made me fast forward... and I don't like to fast forward because eventually my time shifting catches up to live and then I have to watch fuckin' commercials. And when I have to watch fuckin' commercials, that might mean somewhere in the country a Nielsen viewer is watching a commercial too and then I am indirectly responsible for keeping this show on the air!

Fuck that.

If CHUCK has to die, then FRINGE has to die too. It's just the way it has to be.

So... what did I think of this episode that I can qualify numerically for an overall score? I liked the kid actor in the crappy COTW. Usually child actors suck hardcore. But he didn't and it is unfortunate his talents were wasted on this yawnfest of a story. I enjoyed Noble's performance but found Torv to be tiring me out, mostly due to the sequences in which her character served to forward the COTW. That other dude who plays her partner... this must have been his pro bono week since he put zero effort into it. Finally, I did like a few of the Peter flashes and such but why wouldn't Peter realize he was doing that much damage to his father and stop messing with the nutbag, especially while someone was talking to him? I mean, in mid fuckin sentence Peter is interrupting Walter, making him feel extra bit of craycray? What the fuck kind of erased-from-time son is that? What an ungrateful blinky shit! I miss my Pacey Poof but I am put off by him for being such a crappy douche.

Were I to rank this episode from zero to one hundred, zero being pretty shittin' bad and one hundred being kind of awesome, I would give this one....

78 out of 100

Not good enough to watch again. Not bad enough to pretend it never happened.

At least next week we get what no one told me is the best episode of the season so far.

P.S.

I wrote this in a great deal of pain. Feel sorry for me, assholes.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

21 August, 2011

FOX Pilots: NEW GIRL and TERRA NOVA


I got to check out the pilot episodes for NEW GIRL and TERRA NOVA. Here are my quick impressions.

NEW GIRL - Starring Zooey Deschanel and three dudes
I watched this one first just to get it out of the way and was shocked to find myself enjoying it a lot. I am not a fan of the lead actor (though, I have no problem with her at all) but found myself totally in love with her character. She is silly, quirky, nutty, loopy, geeky, and adorable! The guys who eventually play her roommates (SPOILER!) also work well. Sometimes you watch a cast in their pilot and realize their chemistry just isn't natural and that they will have to work on it. Most of those shows get cancelled. This one doesn't suffer from that problem. But is a network audience ready for this cute, geeky comedy? We shall see. The first episode has a lot of fun dialogue and I could see it fitting in well following GLEE.
GRADE: A-

TERRA NOVA - Starring 20 people
Is a network audience ready for a hokey sci-fantasy show about people living on prehistoric Earth? It certainly looks expensive and that makes me wonder just how long can they keep that production level going? I think people will stick with it purely out of fascination with the aesthetics. But once cost-cutting starts showing itself, will the stories hold people for long? I will at least check out part 2 to see if there is a payoff to the first half of the premiere. But I fear the focus on one family will drag it down to the point where people won't care for long.

Last thoughts: is Jason O’Mara's character supposed to be American? I can't tell. Though, the dude playing his son has the thickest Canadian accent this side of some hicky part of Alberta. Thankfully, Stephen Lang is awesome and makes up some for the horrendous accents. Granted, most Americans couldn't tell a good accent from a bad one so... oh and there is a visual effects moment near the end of episode 1 that I sure hope isn't final.
GRADE: C-



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

09 June, 2011

FRINGE - Was It Worth My Time?

Pacey Bishop is Sexy, Like a Meow Meow
After my run with X-FILES back in the day, and my general distaste for all things sci-fi gore/horror, I decided, after one episode, that I had no interest in watching FRINGE. I found the lead female actor to be dull and poorly executed, and the story uninteresting. So I simply discarded it as a show that I would ever watch.

As the summer of 2011 closed in and I started contemplating doing this site, I realized that I couldn't possibly avoid the show, since it had become the new big geek/nerd deal. Also, a couple of friends who were fans of other shows I watched were often talking about it so I decided to just bite the bullet and catch up on all three seasons.

What follows are my general feelings as I watched the seasons. Note that there will be spoilers for those who have not seen the show. I do not recommend you read this if you want to know nothing. So stop right here if you don't want to be spoiled.  You should also stop right here if you are fragile.  Finally, you can scroll to the bottom to see my grades for the different seasons, if that helps your decision to watch or not:

SEASON 1

Right away I find this Australia Dumbham (played by Anna Torv), or whatever her name is, to be the most wooden, uninteresting, blank sheet of papery character.  I can't even be bothered to learn her correct name.  I mostly just call her "FBI b***h."  As in "that FBI b***h needs to die so I can almost enjoy this show."  Plus, her American accent is terrible.  This one is what I call the marble-mouth American accent where the actor sounds like she is rolling a marble under her tongue when trying to say certain words. I had recognized it when I watched one episode at some point during the live run of the show, but this is nearly every episode of me not caring about her character and hating her accent. I just want the writers to set her on fire. Is that possible? She seems like a main character/actor. I can't believe I have to watch this talentless hack for TWO MORE SEASONS!

Thankfully, Walter Bishop is addictive, awesome, brilliant, adorable, and superbly acted (by John Noble)! Also, Walter's relationship with his son, Pacey Bishop (played by Joshua Jackson), is very interesting and often wildly entertaining. I am happy about this because the snoozefest that is Australia Dumbham would have made this show a torture to watch. Granted, I really, really, super really, HATE the whole sci-fi horror/gore genre. I don't like zombies, I don't like goblins or monsters or bubbling masses of cancer cells. I don't dig it, I don't get the interest, and I piss in the mouths of people who masturbate while watching that crap. So I am already predisposed to disliking this show.

But I watch and I suffer through the case-of-the-week boredom, while enjoying Walter and his relationship/exchanges with his son. Thank the gods for Walter and Pacey. I can almost cancel out the insufferable FBI b***h and the storylines. I sometimes fast forward through the episodes. It is the first time I have ever fast forwarded through episodes. That is how much I dislike the genre and Dumbham (I laugh outloud every time she answers her phone: "DUMBHAM!").

Dumbham needs to poop.

I survive season 1 but barely. Oh no... are there more episodes in season 2? This is not good.  Also, I think I just realized Walter's son's name is Peter.  Goodbye Pacey Bishop.

SEASON 2

Man... this show isn't getting any better. Walter and Peter are still great but FBI b***h is just as bad as ever. Correction, Anna Torv's American accent has improved (she has a smaller marble in her mouth now). But from a story telling perspective, this season doesn't improve much, if at all. UNTIL... the final few episodes when there is a sudden rush on a real story arc.  Oh and I should mention that there is an episode in the middle of the season left over from season 1.  Featuring a character who is dead.  Yeah.  That just happened.

Yes, he is a scientist, but he's also trippin' balls!
Now, before I tackle what leads us into season three, I want to say that there are some original elements in this show that pop up every now and then. One of those is the "Observers." This is one of those story devices that made me fall for LOST and BSG. That something much bigger and unexplainable is at work. If done right, this type of story telling device can propel an otherwise mediocre show to greatness because it invests the audience in the bigger picture, not just what happens in individual episodes.

OK, so jumping back into where season two goes at the end, I am suddenly interested starting with the end of episode 15. However, it isn't until episodes 21 to 23 where I start looking forward to what comes next. Sure, Peter's decision to leave seems out of character, since he is such a deep thinker and with such a strong will, but I suppose I can also see that he feels disconnected from the things around him and decides to see what is on the other side. Also, there has been a slow build-up of possible romantic feelings between Peter and Australia. This begins to actually reveal itself here as Peter meets the other world FBI b***h. When she asks him what the other her is like, Peter's response is very honest and likely a revelation to himself. It is probably my favorite acting moment for Joshua Jackson, up to this point, and the point where shipper hearts likely took off like I do when one of my relationships gets serious.

The season ends on a very predictable but interesting note as one Australia takes the place of the other, and FBI b***h is left behind (good, I hope they kill her). I am finally interested in where they may take this.

SEASON 3

Anna Torv is a revelation! What the hell happened here? I can't remember an actor going from a talentless hack to the one-to-watch three seasons into a show. Were the writers just giving her so little to do that it underwhelmed the actor? Is she like one of those geniuses who, if you don't challenge them, they deliver a half-assed job? Whatever it is, someone was screwing with me for two seasons.  I am just happy to see that the writers have given Torv two new characters to play.  Olivia Dunham and Olivia Dunham (the other world version who we shall call Fauxlivia to make things easier).  I know, not very original seeing as she played Australia Dumbham for two seasons, but I guess it is easier for the actor to remember her character's name if it is so similar.  After all, she is blond and you know things get really difficult for them.

Suddenly Olivia/Fauxlivia are the most interesting characters on the show. The arcs are deep. The emotions are complex. Both characters are similar but also noticeably different. Body language, facial expressions, even the way they speak is different. When Olivia smiles, it is the smile of someone who doesn't take happiness for granted. When Fauxlivia smiles, it is the smile of someone who is very happy to be who she is. But these stark differences also create a problem for Peter's character.
Someone's got some 'splainin' to do!
Peter Bishop is so smart, so aware, so detail oriented that it becomes increasingly difficult to believe that he wouldn't notice the difference. Sure, they have him note some differences but he seems to dismiss them too easily. This does his character a disservice. And this is a common issue for writers. The idea to change things up adds a new level to the show but often at the expense of another strong element. To work, Peter has to be dumbed down and I am sure fans of his character must have been livid over it.

Thankfully, once Peter begins to piece things together and, more importantly, when he is confronted by the real Olivia about it, the writers give Peter a believable (or close enough to it) explanation. Should he have known right away? Maybe. Did he? Maybe. But he wasn't thinking clearly because he wanted to make things work, even if he knew something wasn't right. Is it a bit tough to swallow? Yeah. But it also makes for an interesting dynamic between the three characters since... dundundun... Peter and Fauxlivia kind of fell for each other realzies like. Oh, and she is preggers! But Peter is in love with Olivia, or so it would seem, so this could get interesting.

Meanwhile, we have been dealing with a weapon that can destroy worlds and Peter's quest to discover what it is all about and his place in all of it. It seems that Peter is the juice the machine needs to work. At this point I begin to make bets with people that Peter will step into the machine in the finale and destroy one of the worlds, then scramble to take it back in season 4. The writers pull a CHUCK on this one and accelerate the storyline instead of using it for another season. But before I go there, the show deals with the Peter and Olivia romance, as well as the Fauxlivia pregnancy.

The Fauxlivia pregnancy is dealt with very quickly but with some fun dramatic beats (I am of course leaving out a ton of episodes between all of this just to get to the main points) and I get the feeling that the birth of her and Peter's son will have a greater deal of importance in season 4 than it did in season 3 (as nothing more than a tool for DNA). Meanwhile, after roughly 20 dramatic conversations (exhausting but sometimes believable and well written) about their relationship, Peter and Olivia finally become a couple and now I am sure one of them is going to die!

Somewhere along the way Peter has become my favorite character. Now, I am a heterosexual male with no bisexual tendencies but I am willing to go back to college to experiment.  Peter is dreamy.  I don't care how that makes me sound. It is the truth. I want him to snuggle me and tell me everything will be alright. Is that wrong? If it is, then I am prepared to wage a war against right. That man is just intoxicating. I want to go watch reruns of his other show, Richard Dawson's Creep.  Stop looking at me like that, guys!  Oh... Pacey.  Peter!  I meant Peter!  I wish I was a woman right now.... I sure hope that doesn't come back to haunt me some day when I run for president.  But I digress.
Peter tries to clone himself the lazy way. If only...
And so that brings us to the finale. The series finally pays off this Peter and Olivia connection that has been threatening to save or destroy worlds. I love it.  I also love the fake-out future where Olivia is murdered by other world Walter.  Sure, they do away with it quickly but the drama and emotions Jackson and Noble deliver in their sit-down confrontation is intense.  But I am beyond furious the moment Peter winks out of existence after "saving" both worlds. I throw things at my TV. I kick my PS3 across the room. I swing my arms around in the air like a monkey. But then I start thinking about the meaning of what I just watched.

I am sure that even though Peter went poof, he exists somewhere. He just doesn't exist to these characters at this time. But will they begin to remember him over time? Will they feel a loss, even if they can't remember why they feel it? Peter made an enormous impression on two worlds, he can't just be wiped away for eternity. And does Peter exist on a different plane? Can he now travel between worlds? Is he invisible? Is he a god? Can he remember everything and see everyone? Is he suddenly all-knowing? Does he go back in time and return to his body as a child but with all the memories of a man who just saved two worlds? Does he become Neo?  Can he appear in my bed right now?  Arrrgh!  Damn you, Peter! Why must thou be so full of wonderful?

This is why I am interested in seeing FRINGE season 4. Because the writers didn't play it safe. They elevated the game. And while I never had much interest in watching this show, I am glad I did. I am not glad to have suffered through about 36 episodes in seasons 1 and 2, but more than happy that the show creators figured out how to take what was working and to keep it interesting. And to take elements that weren't working and make them work. And most importantly, for realizing that the show they had been writing for two seasons was nothing more than an X-FILES wannabe with X-FILES homages. So, instead, they created a unique show out of the best material. Oh and I am sure fanboys and fangirls of this show will tell me how nearly two useless seasons of snail-paced exposition was necessary, but I will counter with season 3. This show never needed the long setup or the case of the week focus. It just needed to tell an exciting and well constructed story.

SERIES GRADE
(Non-Americans: A = awesome, B = good, C = ok, D = not good, F = failure)

SEASON 1
C : If not for Walter and Pacey, I would not have made it through this one.  The case of the week rarely interests me and the show focuses too much on my least favorite character, Australia.

SEASON 2
B- : Walter and Peter help me get through to the final three episodes where the show really takes off.  Also, there are a couple of pretty good episodes scattered throughout the season that set up the grander arc.

SEASON 3
A : The lame case-of-the-week structure is diluted into backwash.  Almost every character is interesting. I really enjoy Olivia (that's what he said).  Most of the stories rule.  The acting and writing is top notch.  On par with a very good season of LOST or BSG.  And the final few minutes of the finale had my heart pumping in ways only the best shows ever do.  I would have given it an A+ but there is at least one season left.  If all three seasons had been this good, FRINGE would be my favorite show on TV.

SEASON 4
TBD : As long as the writers pay off characters arcs, this one should be on the level of season 3.

What say you?  Comment below.  Anonymous posting is enabled.  Internet Explorer users, sometimes you have to hit "Post Comment" a few times.  I don't know why.


CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE