Showing posts with label Harry Potter. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Harry Potter. Show all posts

21 January, 2013

Furycast 63 - FOX is Not a Real Network


Jess and Magnus discuss CHUCK (way too much), NEW GIRL, HAPPY ENDINGS, PARKS AND RECREATION, ARCHER, plus some other stuff... like how FOX is not a real network... ummm... Viggo Mortensen... what else? Racism in the industry... look, it is an hour long. It is bound to cover a lot of stuff that I can't remember. Just let it be people! Let it be!

WARNING: this is essentially an unedited podcast. Only 12 seconds at the beginning and 10 at the end were cut out. So if we relieve ourselves or drink water or stop talking for a minute... it is all there. ENJOY!

To listen, press play below.


You can also DOWNLOAD THE MP3 VERSION by right clicking that link and then saving the file to your hard drive so that you can do with it as you wish. I don't want to know. Just do it. In the privacy of your own home.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

01 August, 2011

Geek Furious Podcast #2 - EXCLUSIVE!

In this episode of our epic podcast, Siskj and the Head Geek Furious talk about Chuck, Fringe, Falling Skies, Alphas, Harry Potter, Captain America, X-Men, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and much, much more. Also, some super duper insider exclusives are discussed including some Chuck and Fringe spoilers. We also talk about things we probably shouldn't have talked about relating to dangerously insidery info we have on your favorite actors.

We also discuss NerdHQ's superiority over SDCC and some of the issues related to that.

You can listen to the podcast by clicking on the player here (ADULT LANGUAGE):



Music used:
Sepultura - Desperate Cry
Fear Factory - Descent

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

21 July, 2011

Best and Worst Harry Potter Movie Spells



Writer: Multipass

TOP TEN FAVORITE HP MOVIE SPELLS

10. “Riddikulus” (HP3) Fun to say and can do some cool shizz if you've got the imagination for it. The downside is you almost never need to use it.

9. “Lumos/Nox” (HP3) Essential spell. Especially when sneaking around to do awesome and/or illegal activities.

8. “Alohamora” (HP1) Another essential spell. Outside of Adventures with Voldy it's probably very useful, again, especially when making mischief. It also makes me nostalgic for the first movie when those kids were so frakking adorable.

7. “Expecto Patronum” (HP3) Originally invented as the wizard alternative to a petting zoo, later discovered to be the defense against dementors, because they are evil and obviously hate children and pets.

6. "Piertotum locomotor” (HP7II) A badass spell for a very specific purpose, bringing to life Hogwarts' knight statues...spoiler? It makes the list because McGonagall thinks its coolio and shame on you if you don't agree with her.

5. “Accio” (HP 4 onwards) An important spell for lazy people, forgetful people, and hoarders.

4. “Episkey” (HP 6) Sounds like whiskey, and who doesn't like drinking?

3. “Confundus” (HP6) I would use this all the time just to entertain myself...I'd use it on people in the middle of sentences. This is probably why I didn't get those magic genes and am just a muggle.

2. “Imperio” (HP 4) One of the three 'Unforgivable Curses', which aren't that unforgivable since by the end of the series they've been used by people on both sides of the Battle of Hogwarts. It's beats the other two because it forms a rainbow cloud of happy fuzziness around the head of your victim, which is much more creative than a flash of green. (I'm looking at you Avada Kedavra). It's also the most sneaky of the three, obviously.

1. “ARRESTO MOMENTUM” (HP 3) My favorite spell! It's basically an excuse to do all kinds of death-defying crap without hurting yourself. You only need to use it when you are falling so fast you will die (fun). Whenever it's used the wizard/witch is shouting it really loud. It's really fun to say.

TOP THREE WORST MOVIE SPELLS

3. “Wingardium LeviOOOOOsar” not LevioSAR (HP1) Apparently a kiddie spell, except that the right pronunciation and wand movement are required to make it work...which makes it harder to cast than stupefy, which makes it dumb.

2. “Expelliarmus” (HP I forget) Harry's favorite fighting spell, and one that has worked well for him for wand ownership technicalities (see: Elder Wand) but it's mostly idiotic. It seems to be only really effective when sneaking up on someone, like a magical sucker-punch (see: Hermione in HP7II vs. Draco). Highly overrated spell.

1. “Bombarda” (HP3) A dumb spell that apparently Hermione invented since no one else uses it. It's not dumb in what it does, it's dumb because you have to shout BOMBARDA to use it, and it does the same thing as a bunch of other spells...destroys stuff. The invention of Bombarda represents everything that is wrong with the third movie as a book adaptation. Namely, all the new stuff they added to that movie or changed from the book was ASSHATTERY!

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

17 July, 2011

Harry Potter Breaks Records in Final Showing

No need to read through tons of words, below are the records HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 2 broke:

  • Most pre-sales: $32 million
  • Midnight showing: $43.5 million
  • Opening-day: $92.1 million (shattering the previous record by nearly $20 million)
  • Three-day weekend: $168.55 million
Sources: Hollywire and 2cool.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE