Showing posts with label game of thrones. Show all posts
Showing posts with label game of thrones. Show all posts
12 June, 2017
GAME OF THRONES Season 6 is D&D's YouPorn 30 Second Video [2 HOUR PODCAST]
PunkaTess & GeekFurious discuss GAME OF THRONES Season 6 in its entirety and many other GOT and A Song of Ice and Fire topics. This episode was recorded June 28th, 2016. Due to problems in the edit, it was abandoned and never released... until now! Consider some opinions may have changed in a year but most of the opinions in this episode have not changed. Included below are notations of almost every major discussion and time of the discussion. Please share this podcast with your gramma because she doesn't understand how the Internet works.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
27 May, 2016
KOR 5 - GAME OF THRONES Season 6 Midpoint Review (& The Door)
Jess & Magnus discuss GAME OF THRONES episode 6.05 "The Door" and the first half of season 6 as well as how it all relates to the books and whether the show runners are doing a good job translating genius for the masses. Potentially awful audio.
RIGHT CLICK HERE & SAVE to download the MP3 for the AUDIO ONLY version and/or SUBSCRIBE VIA iTUNES!
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
28 April, 2016
Knights of Outer Ren 3 & 4 - GAME OF THRONES Season 6 Predictions & more
Two episodes of KOR that I never posted on the blog. First is with Jess where we talked about tons of stuff. Second is with Babydoll. Enjoy!
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
18 June, 2015
GAME OF THRONES Season 5 Postmortem Podcast
Jessica and Magnus discuss season 5 of GAME OF THRONES and how it compares to other seasons... and some book discussions related to that.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
game of thrones,
game of thrones season 5,
podcast
03 May, 2015
GAME OF THRONES 5.04: 'Sons of the Harpy' Discussion Podcast
HORRIBLE AUDIO WARNING - we should have tested this recording... it's not worth listening to but if you ignore this warning then... Jess & Magnus return for the first time in three years to discuss GAME OF THRONES... episode 5.04... Sons of the Harpy... and, at the end, talk possible, theoretical, major spoilers (but you will be warned).
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
23 December, 2014
THE 2014 THINGS IN VISUAL MEDIA AWARDS!
[INSERT AWESOME BANNER HERE... ehh screw it]
Last year I wrote an extensive list of my favorite, and
least favorite, of 2013… and then never posted it. Why? Because.
Anyway, these are my favorite things of 2014… they may not be yours.
That’s cool. I don’t like things so you’ll think I’m awesome. I like them
because no one else is going to enjoy my life more than me.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
05 July, 2014
01 January, 2014
TOP 10 TV SHOWS of 2013!!!
I am going to limit this list to shows that premiered in 2013, not shows that ran into 2013.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
29 July, 2013
'Game of Thrones' Home Video Sales Plummet in Season 2
I am a big fan of GAME OF THRONES, and an even greater fan of the books on which the show is based, the “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin. So I was very excited last year when home video sales catapulted the show to #1 in DVD sales for 2012.
I was also excited when season 2 was released on DVD/BD and read this article (based on an HBO press release) that touted the success of season 2 home video sales.
Here is the problem, following that “day one” phenomenon, sales kind of took a dip. A kind of huge dip. Even when factoring in the Blu-Ray sales, which likely increased year-to-year, the overall home video sales for season 2 are much lower.
Let’s look at where the sales for the season 1 DVD box set was last year around this time:
Game of Thrones: The Complete First Season – 949,240 units sold for $32,450,566 in revenue.
Now look at what sales are right now for season 2:
Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 534,471 units sold for $16,493,733 in revenue
It is still doing well, coming in as the #2 television show in home video sales for 2013 (after “The Bible”). However, it is a stark change from the previous year.
So what happened? Especially considering that TV viewership increased (the show has a per episode total viewership of nearly 14 million). Well, without having HBO’s internal data, I'll conjecture that many of the people who bought season 1 went on to watch season 2 (and 3) and skipped out on buying the show now that they have HBO and can watch it anytime they want via its various viewing options (HBOGO and On Demand etc).
If this is the case, then HBO is fine with people not buying the box set since the revenue from subscriptions more than make up for any loss in home video sales, especially if the subscriber holds on to their HBO service for the whole year.
Or, all those illegal downloads really are hurting HBO’s bottom line.
What say you?
Note: I tried to contact HBO about these numbers but never received any kind of response (even though I attempted several times).
UPDATE: since someone brought up Blu-Ray sales making up for some of the losses, here is my response from below (which you can find easily but I decided to include it as part of this article since some will never look for it).
BLU-RAY Sales:
Week 1 Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 336,215 units sold - $10,083,088 total revenue
Week 2 Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 64,534 units sold - 365,193 total sold - $2,580,733 revenue - $11,597,496 total revenue
As you can see, after the first week, sales plummeted. By the third week, it wasn't even on the top 20 list (which means it sold less than 20,000 units that week).
UPDATE 2: here is the comparative DVD sales numbers for that period of time.
Week 1 Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 241,587 units sold - $6,037,259 total revenue
Week 2 Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 64,932 units sold - 306,519 total sold - $2,225,869 revenue - $8,263,128 total revenue
Week 3 Game of Thrones: The Complete Second Season - 27,725 units sold - 334,244 total sold - $831,473 revenue - $9,094,601 total revenue
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
13 July, 2013
CFBWMR Episode 6 - We Haven't Seen Anything
GeekFurious and the raging Australian, Nacho Libre, talk about stuff for an hour.
Totally unedited podcast. Totally "live". Sorry about any audio issues but that's what happens when you don't prep or test.
We talk GAME OF THRONES a little bit, but mostly movies we haven't seen (PACIFIC RIM, MAN OF STEEL, STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS and so on). We avoid spoilers as much as possible. Though, if you haven't seen season 1 of GAME OF THRONES, then you will definitely be spoiled. I also make up spoilers for the show that could turn out to be true one day.
Click below to play:
Or RIGHT CLICK HERE and SAVE AS to download the mp3.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
05 July, 2013
Then Why Did You Say it Sucked?
![]() |
| I don't know why I'm using this image for the article. |
Perhaps you just saw the new Star Trek.
“Oh man, that raped my adulthood!” says your newest angst buddy.
Or you played The Last of Us and loved it.
“Overrated bag of crap!” says your closest YouTube comment section friend.
Or you were in emotional turmoil over something that happened on GAME OF THRONES.
“It’s just a TV show, you idiot! Also, it's shit! Wheel of Time rules!” exclaims anonymous Reddit user #756,341.
But ever get into an actual discussion with any of those people about the thing they claim is the worst thing since 9/11?
Because I have. Many times. And you know what seems to happen almost every single time? The gut-reaction loony doesn’t seem to think it sucks all that much. In fact, a lot of the times they will say something like “I don’t hate it or anything” or “It’s alright, I just didn’t like that one part.”
So why did you say it sucked?
When did something either have to be THE GREATEST FUCKIN’ THING EVER!!!! Or THE WORST PIECE OF SHIT IN THE UNIVERSE?!?!?
Is it really that difficult for people to discuss things without using hyperbole when something doesn’t affect them in a dramatic way?
Perhaps take a moment and think about what you are about to say, then consider it some more, and weigh your true feelings versus your teenaged Internet hormones (tintermones?) and then try to have a reasonable discussion where you proclaim the new Superman the worst movie of all time, even worse than NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER which was fuckin’ horrible omg Van Damme suxxxxx!!!!
*Head Geek Furious is a classically trained Shakespearean thespian actor/writer astronaut who attended Julliard and Harvard Law in a dream once.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
17 June, 2013
Top 10 Penultimate TV Episodes
Many shows can’t pull off a solid finale. However, when it comes to penultimate episodes, as in the episode that precedes the finale, there have been some superb ones.
Here are my top 10 penultimate episodes (of about the past ten years, because I'm not going to try to remember the 90s).
10. LOST – Episode 3.21, Greatest Hits: This was all about confronting realities and accepting the inevitable. It was done to perfection, allowing characters to shine above the plot. Deeply emotional on all levels. Technically this was the third to last episode but the season finale was shown as a 2-hour event.
9. GAME OF THRONES – Episode 2.09, Blackwater: This show will probably go down as delivering the most epic penultimate episodes. This one gave us the drama and action of a big budget movie. Originally I put this higher on my list but then I watched the other episodes and realized it belonged right here.
8. MAD MEN – Episode 5.12, Commissions and Fees: Many people have argued and will likely argue for many more years about the quality of the fifth season but there is no denying that its penultimate episode was one of the show’s best.
7. COMMUNITY – Episode 2.23, A Fistful of Paintballs: The first part of a fun finale set. It was thematically different from the second part and arguably better than the finale.
6. FRINGE – Episode 2.22, Over There (part 1): This episode started a frantic ball rolling that would lead the show headfirst into its third (and my favorite) season.
5. CHUCK – Episode 2.21, Chuck vs. the Colonel: Not just a great episode but arguably the best episode the show ever pulled off in its 5-season run. It has everything that made this show beloved: heart, romance, action, family, drama, and comedy.
4. BATTLESTAR GALACTICA – Episode 1.12, Kobol's Last Gleaming (part 1): This show had some amazing episodes but only one penultimate makes this list. Part 2 would probably make a top 10 list of finale episodes.
3. GAME OF THRONES – Episode 1.09, Baelor: For those who hadn’t read the books, this sent shock-waves throughout the galaxy. It was one of the most surprising turn of events in television history. That is until…
1. GAME OF THRONES – Episode 3.09, The Rains of Castamere: I am going out cheap and declaring a tie for first. Book fans knew what was coming. Non-book fans did not. Both were equally blown away. After 20 episodes of waiting, we finally received the payoff to "Baelor". And yes, this show gets 3 episodes on the list... by earning it!
1. THE WIRE – Episode 5.09, Late Editions: One of the show’s best with various plot points reaching their emotional apex. If Emmy voters had actually bothered to watch this show while it was on the air, this episode would have resulted in a clean sweep of the awards. The Emmy’s need a new category: shows we were too stupid to realize were incredible until off the air.
Don't like my list? Make your own in the comments section below.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
battlestar galactica,
chuck,
community,
fringe,
game of thrones,
lost,
Mad Men,
penultimate,
the wire,
top 10
11 June, 2013
Best in TV: 2012-2013 Season
To make this list, a show had to premiere between 1 June, 2012 and 31 May, 2013.
Top 10 Shows
1. "Game of Thrones" - HBO
2. "Orphan Black" – BBC America
3. "The Americans" - FX
4. "Justified" - FX
5. "Mad Men" – AMC
6. "House of Cards" – Netflix
7. "Veep" - HBO
8. "New Girl" - FOX
9. "Parks and Recreation" - NBC
10. "30 Rock" - NBC
I thought about making this a top 20 list because I could have easily picked another 10 shows I loved this season, but I cut myself off at 10 (originally, this was supposed to be a top 5 list). Also, the top 6 are all hour-long dramas while the rest are all half-hour comedies. Coincidence? Or am I saying that dramas are more meaningful?
Top 10 Performances
1. Tatiana Maslany: Sarah, Alison, Cosima, et al. – "Orphan Black"
2. Nikolaj Coster-Waldau: Jaime Lannister - "Game of Thrones"
3. Jennifer Carpenter: Debra Morgan - "Dexter"
4. Matthew Rhys: Philip Jennings - "The Americans"
5. Maisie Williams: Arya Stark – "Game of Thrones"
6. Peter Dinklage: Tyrion Lannister – "Game of Thrones"
7. Julia Louis-Dreyfus: Selina Meyer – "Veep"
8. Clarke Peters: Albert Lambreaux - "Treme"
9. Charles Dance: Tywin Lannister – "Game of Thrones"
10. Bryan Cranston: Walter White – "Breaking Bad"
Honorable Mentions
Diana Rigg: Olenna Tyrell – "Game of Thrones"
Keri Russell: Elizabeth Jennings – "The Americans"
I realize there are a lot of GAME OF THRONES actors on this list. What can I say? The show has terrific performances that I consider better than most shows. I did try to not include that many from one show but I couldn't in good conscience do it and keep the list genuine.
Also, before someone asks why I didn't break the list up between men and women, it's because they are all actors. Why separate acting categories by sexes? That's ridiculous. This isn't athletics.
Top 5 New Shows
1. "Orphan Black" – BBC America
2. "The Americans" - FX
3. "House of Cards" - Netflix
4. "Elementary" - CBS
5. "Copper" – BBC America
There weren't that many new shows I thought should be on this list that I actually watched. The CW's ARROW could have made this list but I'm not finished watching it. Consider it an honorable mention.
And the Top Talent Award of the 2012-2013 Season goes to:
Tatiana Maslany – "Orphan Black"
This young Canadian actor bested highly respected veterans in a TV season with many excellent performances. If you aren’t watching her on ORPHAN BLACK, then I cannot emphasize enough that it would benefit your life to do so as soon as possible.
The From Best-to-Worst Award goes to:
"Community" - NBC
Created by Dan Harmon and killed by Dan Harmon’s firing. The new show runners tried very hard to deliver on the fruitful Harmon garden but only managed to peel back some skin without squeezing out an ounce of juice (minus one episode by Oscar winning writer Jim Rash). Thankfully Harmon has been hired back for next season.
*The choices are personal and not meant to be definitive. Make your own and post it in the comments section.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
04 June, 2013
CFBWMR 5 - GAME OF THRONES 3.09 or RW means "Robb Wins"
In this live-recorded episode (meaning no edits), VladyGG and HGF discuss GAME OF THRONES episode 3.09; plus fan, actor, and critic reactions, YouTube, death, and even comparisons to WALKING DEAD. This is obviously a spoiler filled podcast, if you haven't watched the show DO NOT LISTEN! There are also theories tossed about related to the book material. While this could be spoilery, it is ONLY THEORIES that have never been confirmed by anyone, therefor they are not actual spoilers.
We also discuss the future of the show and hint at some things to come (but again, we do our best to avoid any spoilers).
No times noted because it is all about the show.
Press play below:
Or you can RIGHT CLICK AND DOWNLOAD HERE to grab the MP3 version.
"Red Wedding" reactions article.
Maisie reacts as Arya.
Compilation of fans reacting to the "Red Wedding".
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
game of thrones,
game of thrones 3.09,
podcast,
red wedding,
robb wins,
rw
31 May, 2013
CFBWMR 4 - Jar-Jar Binks is a RACIST!
VladyGG and HGF return with this TOTALLY LIVE PODCAST! No edits. This is the first time we've ever done this and if it works may lead to us doing podcasts where you can listen in live. We talk CHUCK movie; I give advice to GAME OF THRONES fans; talk Star Trek ENTERPRISE; gush about ORPHAN BLACK and Tatiana Maslany; touch on Dan Harmon's potential return to COMMUNITY; my spider coffee story; ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT season 4; and more "fake outrage" talk.
WARNING: Actually, none really. We don't talk about any spoilers. Every discussion is safe if you've not watched the shows discussed. Oh wait... ADULT LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT!
Oh and I know I said "MR MS" during the "Game of Thrones" discussion when it is clearly MS MR. This is what happens when you do it live.
Topics and times noted below.
00:00 Intro: Alice in Chains - Hollow
00:37 opening babble
06:35 CHUCK movie discussion (how fans can help)
13:55 my GAME OF THRONES suggestion for non-book readers re: final episodes of S3
17:29 Star Trek talk, mostly ENTERPRISE (and Scott Bakula going viral)
22:53 ORPHAN BLACK and the incredible Tatiana Maslany
24:15 things go way wrong recording wise (Prelude to War interlude)
28:07 VladyGG is returned by the kidnappers (Prelude to War continues)
29:55 COMMUNITY and Dan Harmon's possible return
32:54 the spider in my coffee incident
34:10 ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT season 4 (if you listen to only one thing, choose this)
45:21 "fake outrage" discussion
52:45 end babble
54:10 Outro: Daft Punk - Derezzed
Press play below.
OR, right click here to save the MP3 to your computer.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
06 May, 2013
Surviving the Adaptation (of Your Favorite Book)
A friend of mine and I are massive fans of the A Song of Ice and Fire books by George R.R. Martin and yet are having completely different reactions to HBO’s adaptation, A GAME OF THRONES. I am mostly fine with the changes within the adaptation, even when they diverge greatly from the source. She is frustrated and at times hostile toward changes from the source material.
I completely understand that reaction. It is the same one I had while watching the first two movies in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. At least until I made an essential bargain with myself, with help from the great J.R.R. Tolkien.
You see, Tolkien wrote the Middle-Earth stories in character, meaning that he wrote the material as if it were from historical documents. This was made evident when he went back to The Hobbit to change and add to the story of the One Ring, which had originally lacked the significance it would later possess in Lord of the Rings. He justified the changes by saying that it was based on more accurate historical information.
When I learned of this the light bulb went off in my head.
In the spirit of Tolkien’s original vision, why couldn’t I as the reader and viewer absorb the adaptation in this way? Perhaps Peter Jackson found historical documents that contradicted the information in the books. Tolkien was working off the hobbit version of history, while Jackson chose the human perspective. That would explain why Tolkien covered more of the hobbit’s plight (Scouring of the Shire), whereas Jackson had a more cynical view on some of the human story lines (like Faramir’s). That doesn’t mean the movies had more accurate information, just different. I could still prefer the Tolkien version of events but without completely discounting Jackson’s material.
I then thought I could do this with any adaptation of any book. If great master Tolkien could do it, then everyone should be allowed. Therefor, “Thrones” show runners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss aren’t raping George R.R. Martin’s masterpiece (mind you, Martin himself has also made adaptation changes in his own episode scripts). They are interpreting it based on different historical documents snatched through a time portal between Westeros and Earth. Perhaps these documents were written by Lannister historians instead of ones from House Stark.
Why not?
Worst case scenario, once you digest the different perspectives on the (faux) history you love, you can always dive right back into the written word and believe it to be the correct version. Until then, enjoy the adaptation. It’s actually quite a wonderful experience --if you let it.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
14 March, 2013
CFBWMR Episode 1!
Brand new podcast! Brand new approach! All segments and topics listed below.
Press play below to listen.
You can also right click on THIS LINK and save the mp3 to your desktop.
Segment 1
VladyGG and HGF discuss the new podcast.
Music
(Intro) Sepultura - Refuse Resist
(Outro) Fiona Apple - Werewolf
Segment 2
Mohingan and GeekFurious talk about the worst generation and Canada.
Music
(Outro) Air Dubai - All Day
Segment 3
Jess and Magnus talk about VIKINGS, THE BIBLE, NEW GIRL, GAME OF THRONES and a few other things.
Music
(Break 1) Ásgeir Trausti - Leyndarmál
(Break 2) The Feud - It Ain't Right
(Outro) The Killing Floor - Leap To Safety
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Press play below to listen.
You can also right click on THIS LINK and save the mp3 to your desktop.
Segment 1
VladyGG and HGF discuss the new podcast.
Music
(Intro) Sepultura - Refuse Resist
(Outro) Fiona Apple - Werewolf
Segment 2
Mohingan and GeekFurious talk about the worst generation and Canada.
Music
(Outro) Air Dubai - All Day
Segment 3
Jess and Magnus talk about VIKINGS, THE BIBLE, NEW GIRL, GAME OF THRONES and a few other things.
Music
(Break 1) Ásgeir Trausti - Leyndarmál
(Break 2) The Feud - It Ain't Right
(Outro) The Killing Floor - Leap To Safety
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
08 March, 2013
Furycast 69 - Fiery Goddess of Geek
VladyGG and HGF discuss many topics. It is a long podcast. STAR WARS, GAME OF THRONES, Metallica, STAR TREK, GIRLS and more.
Please forgive me, Erin McGathy.
Press play below.
Or right click and save the MP3 file to your hard drive.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
emily gordon,
game of thrones,
metallica,
star trek,
star wars
02 March, 2013
Extended GAME OF THRONES Season 3 Trailer
It is here! The longer version of the trailer you've already watched 20 million times!
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
05 February, 2013
Furycast 66 - That Kiss Sucked
Jess and Magnus talk about the NEW GIRL kiss that shocked the world (and disappointed one of us); also HAPPY ENDINGS and our inability to remember its storylines; the new show THE AMERICANS about KGB spies in the US in the early 80s; THE OFFICE trying to jump the shark; ARCHER still being brilliant; 30 ROCK series finale; and many other discussions involving COMMUNITY, THE WALKING DEAD, GAME OF THRONES, CHUCK and much more.
WARNING!!!!! This is an unedited podcast. If we decide to order pizza in the middle, then you will hear it.
Either autoplaying or you need to press play below.
Or you can DOWNLOAD this podcast by RIGHT CLICKING ON THIS LINK and saving the MP3 file (I recommend this).
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
30 Rock,
archer,
chuck,
community,
game of thrones,
happy endings,
justified,
New Girl,
new girl kiss,
the americans,
the office,
walking dead
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)










