Showing posts with label review Fringe. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review Fringe. Show all posts

12 January, 2013

Review - FRINGE 5.11: 'The Boy Must Live' or how the writers think you are all f**kin' stupid


Give me a break, guys.

If there is ever a category for lamest retcon in the history of sci-fi/fantasy television shows, it should go to FRINGE.

"The boy must live" suddenly means baldboy Michael?  Because he must return to the source like Neo and then everyone will see the error of their ways and then the Observers will never exist?

Of course if the Observers never exist, then the series of events caused by them will never exist, which means when Walter takes Peter back through the portal there will be no September there to save them and so NONE OF THIS WILL HAVE HAPPENED!!!!!

But of course that's not how it will go down because they will just make it fit even if it doesn't.

The writers think you are all stupid.

And perhaps a lot of you are. Or you will just eat up anything because it is the show you love.

For you guys, why do you read reviews? Why do you read comments about the show you love? Just to read someone agreeing with you?

Anyway, what a mess. What a joke of a final season. The writers, and any critic who praises them, should be embarrassed.

If I had to rate this episode, and I don't, I'd give it:

0 out of 100

A massive turd was just deposited into the mouth of a show I once loved. Thank the gods it is over next week.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

14 December, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.09: 'Black Blotter'


"I wanted to cry for you. But I'm different now."

Walter's acid trip toward the reconstitution of his brain brings a fairy good time.

I know what you are wondering. Did this episode make up for the general weakness of this season? Did the writers finally remember what this series is about and put more focus on characters and relationships over slow plotting boredom? I mean, did they do so without spreading a ton of moldy cheese all over it?

Maybe?

We did get some amount of Walter tripping, Astrid looking cute, and Peter & Olivia in-love. These things work well so the writers have spent a large amount of time not utilizing them out of fear of making what many love about the show less interesting.

That makes a lot of sense since purposely making the show suck DOES elevate the enjoyment of those elements when they are actually utilized well.

So a signal brings our heroes to a house where the Observer kid with the terribly hidden bald-cap is being protected by some old dude and a frail woman. And that's when Walter joins a Monty Python sketch to save the day. After some talk, the gang takes the weirdo back to their secret base and tries to make him drink hot coco. It is here, during some dumb dialogue, that it becomes clear that this kid is September. Not to the characters, of course. That would be too easy. But to anyone with a brain.

In the end, Walter trips some more balls and then sets fire to his damnation. Unfortunately, he is already doomed. He now knows and soon the world will end by his hands.

Did I skip a story element that would illuminate the meaning behind what I just wrote?  If it feels like I'm not putting a lot of effort into this review, consider your observational skills tested and confirmed to be in working condition.

If I had to rate this episode, and the makeup department over at WB says I don't, then I'd give it:

76 out of 100

It wasn't terrible.

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

08 December, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.08: 'The Human Kind'


As Peter turns into a logic meat puppet, Olivia pines for a bloody bullet, and Walter worries about Peter's ability to cry.

And we get yet another episode of FRINGE, in a season of only 13 episodes that are supposed to close out the series, whose story could have been told in one act of a much better episode. Proving, yet again in an endless proving of yet-again, that 13 episode arcs are in no way superior to television story telling.

When writers get lazy, they run out of quality ideas NO MATTER HOW MANY EPISODES THEY HAVE TO WRITE.

Anyway, so Olivia's mission to find a magnet did feel at some point like a story element that could go somewhere interesting. The character of Simone, the woman who had been waiting for a couple of decades for the blond monotone ice popsicle, as foretold by a gray-haired granny from the past, was one of those LOST type story-lines that always intrigue me. But then a couple of things happened. Things of total mindfuckering stupidity.

First, Olivia decided to school this very kind and helpful sweet lady about her delusions of hope. Yes, darling Olivia, there is no better time to shit all over someone than after they spent TWENTY YEARS waiting for your robotic personality to show up, point a weapon at her, refuse her kind gestures, accuse her of trying to poison you, and then SHIT ALL OVER HER as you try to leave in the vehicle she kept safe for you and just refueled so you could go on your merry stiff way.

And second, while on the road to your clandestine destination, with your super important cargo, in a world where you are one of two MOST WANTED PEOPLE ON THE PLANET and being hunted by super-human beings who can manipulate time and space, you fall for the oldest trick in the book (not kidding, I looked it up, it is on page 1) of highway robbery.

Meanwhile, Pacey Poof's Matrix agent fight take 2, while cool, was so unoriginal and predictable that it didn't do much for me. While his injury and subsequent scene with Walter made me somewhat curious enough to pay attention, in the end it just led us to a half-assed scene between Olivia and Peter where he ends up cutting out his super power for the sake of love.

Wow. Awesome...

The best part of this is that Jackson won't have to channel ice-queen Olivia in any more scenes as a way to pretend to be turning into an Observer. Because there were times I couldn't tell the two apart. Well, other than Torv's less curly hair. Otherwise, it was very difficult... they were like twins.

If I had to rate this episode, and blahblahblahblahblah, I'd give it:

61 out of 100

This probably could have been a good episode if it had different writers, producers, director, key grip, and editors.

So what did you think? I am very interested. And please be respectful in your idiotic responses in the comment section.

Keep it classy.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

16 November, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.07: 'Five-Twenty-Ten'


In this week's episode, something happens. Then something else. Finally, something happens that makes you go "wooooo!" as you wait weeks for whatever comes next.

I truly don't have much to say about this episode. So let me sum it up in some bullets.

  • Walter's complete brain makes him do bad things and love won't change that.
  • Peter can see the future and shit because he's turning into an Observer.
  • Olivia is worried about Peter.
  • The Observers still haven't gotten around to noticing those Etta "Resist" signs. I suppose they could think they are advertisements for a new deodorant for the dead.

The only truly effective thing that this episode did was shit on the ridiculous notion often bandied about by television people that a 13-episode season means meatier episodes and no fluff.

Clearly they could have dished out a majority of this shit in one act. Instead, they stretched it out for an entire episode. Lame.

If I had to rate this episode, and I truly don't, I'd give it:

60 out of 100

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

09 November, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.06: 'Through the Looking Glass and What Walter Found There'


Dear friends, I was unable to write a review last week due to a megastorm that knocked out power across the area. I did discuss what I thought of the episode in our latest podcast but decided not to catch up with a written review. If you were disappointed by that, then I apologize for failing your expectations.

My recent complaints have been about Olivia's lack of a primal grief over her daughter's death. As I stated on the podcast, there is no believable reason for this. Sure, Olivia did have something in last week's episode that one could say was a nice moment for the actor/character but it wasn't primal grief. It wasn't about losing control. And when people lose someone they can't replace, they have those moments even if they are emotionally protective. Humans can't control themselves in those moments. The grief escapes.

So I went into this episode very disappointed by how the writers have treated Olivia's reactions (minus that one moment, as I indicated), but very happy with the Pacey Poof material. Not much changed this time around. The episode starts with Peter still holding onto his grief and Olivia still acting much too amiable about the whole thing. Sure, the two share a nice moment together but Peter continues to deliver an appearance of stress, anger, and grief while Olivia has a much too accepting disposition. As if she finds all of this a bit cute or sweet. It feels unnatural.

As for the rest of the episode, Walter's hunt for his hidden puzzle pieces was interesting in that I wondered where it was going but also silly in that he didn't realize how dangerous it would be to go out alone to do it.

Though, an even bigger and growing issue I have with this season is how slow and incapable the Observers seem to be whenever the show needs them to be, and how quick and capable they seem at other times.  I am not sure if this whole evil Observer story line will pay off well down the line, but they were so much more interesting when they seemed like detached time travelers who existed for some less-than-evil purpose. Now they are nothing more than more strangely dressed agents from THE MATRIX.

Let me mention some things I did like: the previously mentioned moment between Peter and Olivia; the way the alternate world worked differently on technology; Peter irritatingly pushing Walter through the time warp (toward the end) as Walter tries to do his little dance shuffle; though the setup to it happening was silly, the Pacey Poof Neo Vs. Agent Observer fight was pretty cool, and I think they even used a musical nod to THE MATRIX in there; Peter's new powers!

On that last point, the Observer's warning about what Peter has done to himself is likely to turn into something completely fuckin' stupid as these things usually do.

If I had to rate this episode, and some little albino boy says I do, then I'd give it:

78 out of 100

This show has seen better days. And worse. I gave the episode an extra 3 points for the final minutes which had some nice John Noble acting.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

12 October, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.03: 'The Recordist'


When the team goes out looking for clues to Walter's Observer-killing weapon, they meet up with people who have been keeping records of the history of humanity post-occupation. And stuff happens.

After last week's killer episode failed to really create much dialogue in the comments section about anything but Anna Torv, Joshua Jackson, and the amount of screen time each get versus which is a better actor (yeah, that happened), I wonder what argument either side will make this week.

Because both received a fair amount of screen time.

Both had a fair amount of good scenes.

Both delivered pretty good performances.

Granted, Joshua Jackson is the superior actor.

Oh shit. I just started it all over again!

I kid.  Well, not that Jackson is the superior actor or the one with better scenes, but that I was trying to stir up any shit.  Though, having said what I said it probably comes off a bit disingenuous for me to say that. Oh well.  Like it matters what I say anyway. Last week I just talked about how awesome the episode was and barely got a peep about that in the comments section.

Why the fuck am I writing about the comments section in a review about the episode?  I have been effectively trolled!

So this episode wasn't brilliant but it wasn't mediocre either.  It did move the story along. It did tackle some of Olivia's simmering emotional issues about abandoning her husband and his search for their daughter and her reasoning made sense. 

She had given up hope.  She couldn't see past her depressed outlook.  All she could see was that she had lost again.  All this the cause of a messed up childhood where she was used and abused by those who were meant to look after her. It is a good bit of believable writing.

Pacey Poof's moments were pretty effective too. Jackson has such a wonderful hold on his character's heart that he never fails to tap into that emotional side when he needs it. And with Olivia as the cold one, Peter needs to be the one who speaks for their relationship.  Otherwise the audience would be left wondering why they ever fell for each other.

Apart from those elements, the rest of the episode had some good beats like the mole who calls the rebels to warn them of the incoming enemy; Walter just wanting to get high; Astrid the laser surgeon and VHS fixer; freaky looking kid who made graphic novels out of the legends of the Fringe unit; creepy black stuff; a sacrifice; and a montage (I love a good montage!).

For an episode that surfed the line of significance and insignificance, it worked for me.

If I had to rate this episode, and Walter's suit of armor says I do, then I'd give it:

83 out of 100

So what did you think?  I mean, beside the obvious stuff of how much it sucked. Oh and see you in two-weeks!

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

06 October, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.02: 'In Absentia'


Hardcore fans of any show can easily turn into ass-kissing douchebags or hate-everything assholes once it has been on long enough (my often mentioned post-season 2 phenomenon). And it is difficult, as someone who finds himself trying to be objectively critical, to not side with the haters more often than I do the ass-kissers. But being someone who prides himself on being able to maintain objectivity even when show writers make it difficult to not dive headfirst into negativity, I definitely root for quality.

In this episode, quality emerged with a vengeance.

Trying to shy away from the hyperbole of feeling blown away by something just watched, I am going to stop myself from proclaiming this "one of the best episodes in the series."

Fuck it, I just failed.

THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST EPISODES OF THE SERIES! HOLY SHIT!

One of the things that made this show something of an addiction was the excellent acting and well written characters/dialogue. Throughout the history of the show, those things have trumped the stories, even when they were worthy of praise.  But something happened on the way to season 4 and everyone seemed to, more often than not, lose their focus. As I mentioned in the latest podcast, FRINGE had become a show with characters and situations I loved, but without the intrinsic quality that made me fall in love.

Somehow they rediscovered it in episode 89.

What made it so great? Let me just bullet point it because I am too exhausted from the intensity to recap shit.

  • It's a break-in episode and those rule!
  • It's a grand plan episode and the origin of those ideas are often so much better than the eventual payoff (yes, this probably means the resolution will suck but we live in the now people!).
  • The individual interactions between Etta and her parents were pretty much perfect, with so much unshared pain and frustration between them, yet with love holding them in a bond.
  • Walter being the Walter we all know and love with nutty and hilarious dialogue.
  • A side-story involving an enemy that goes well beyond anything one could have expected (give that man an Emmy nomination!).
  • A somewhat Star Wars like infiltration into the enemy base minus a wookiee and this time to turn the power on.
  • One of the most powerful scenes in show history (when Etta loses her shit upon discovering what had happened to her partner) that is still giving me chills.
  • A powerful ending that ran the gamut of emotions.
  • And all the things I forgot to mention because I'm on such a high right now.

Bravo writers. Superb work. If this is what is to come this season, then I will weep when the show ends.

If I had to rate this episode, and I really want to, I'd give it:

98 out of 100

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

28 September, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.01: 'Transilience Thought Unifier Model-11'



The beginning of the end of FRINGE is upon us and its fans squee in earnest. But was it worth the wait? Can this final season live up to the hype? Does this episode kick off greatness or invite the coming of disappointment?

Season 4's failure was in building up to several main points that under-delivered. Peter's attempt to return to his timeline was a silly and total waste of time since it should have been obvious to anyone paying attention that he was already in the correct timeline (as I shouted in virtually every single review last year). And the "death" of Olivia that was foreshadowed by September felt totally void of earned drama when it occurred after we had already seen an episode about the future that made it clear she had to have survived.

Not to mention the weak plodding along of the main storyline and its lazy resolution.

However, within that season there were several interesting developments, the greatest being the takeover of Earth by the Observers and the jump-forward into the future where everything has gone wrong and our heroes have to be collected and released from amber to fight the invaders.

That is where we begin this season and at least I am excited to see where it all goes. I am thrilled that the case-of-the-week element has been vanquished from the show (I know some of you dig that).  So this should be a 13-episode fully serialized story about how these characters either save the world or fail and die.

Spoiler: they will save it.  Not that I know anything but... they will. Come on.

What one has to wonder is whether or not the ride will be satisfying. Do these writers have it in them to deliver something worthy of the greatness of say seasons 2 and 3?  Will we feel like the journey, even with some of the missteps, was done justice when the final curtain is pulled back on the series?

I want to be able to say yes but this episode made me a bit worried even though I did like it.

The fundamental problem with it is that we are given certain story beats as expositions and that rarely works. Something happened between Peter and Olivia (and Walter I guess) where Pacey Poof decided to not join them because their daughter was missing? Yeah, I'd like to have seen that not heard about it. And if I couldn't see it, then don't bother explaining it. Or don't even write it. Unless there is some grand plan to have that pay off in some way later, it is just a strip of dangling drama that used up time that could have been spent on emotional points that weren't utilized enough.

In that regard, why have these writers been so afraid, since the end of season 3, to allow Peter and Olivia to have actual intimacy without having to play with their relationship? How many times do we need them to rediscover each other? Does this show even need that? I'd rather focus on whatever and wherever this story wants to take us toward. Again, unless there is some grand plan for that this season, it is just a waste of time.

Anyway, I liked the Walter interrogation scenes even as I cringed at his suffering. I loved the infiltration sequence though it did go by much too quickly (could have extended it by doing away with exposition talk earlier).  I even enjoyed the search for Olivia even if it was completed (again) much too easily.  And I was encouraged by a few character beats that make me wonder about where Henrietta's mind is at and whether she may be a loose cannon at some point.

I also watched the promo that followed the episode and did feel a twinge of excitement about future episodes.  So, while I wasn't blown away by 5.01, I am also not too down on it. Instead, I am cautiously waiting to be blown away.

If I had to rate this episode, and Walter's scrambled brain says I do, then I'd give it:

81 out of 100

Less exposition, less Peter and Olivia emo-sillyness and more shooting Observers would have brought the score up.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

12 May, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.22: 'Brave New World Part 2'


The season finale (not series finale since the show has been picked up for a fifth, 13 episode, final season) wraps up the story of the two-collapsing-worlds-to-make-another-new-world that could have made for a TERRA NOVA reboot (since that show's been cancelled) storyline. Was it worth the ride?

Not really. And I think the biggest problem with the finale is the great episode "Letters of Transit." But how can a great episode be a problem? Well, it pretty much made all the shocking points of the last two episodes too obvious. We have already seen into the future. We know Astrid lives. We know Olivia lives since Pacey Poof and her have a kid. So, at no point did I feel any sense of real danger for these characters. And that's why ending the season like this was a bad idea.

A very bad idea.

Not to mention that Olivia's death (granted, I thought they might have Peter have to make that choice) seemed obvious to me from the start. So none of it worked on the level the writers clearly intended. And even the final scene with September carries less weight because of "Letters of Transit." We know who is coming. We know how these things play out. And I'm not excited about the prospect of spending 11 episodes next season getting to the next scene that would have followed "Letters of Transit."

I'd much rather the writers not stall us for 90% of next season to get us to the point in the story WE ARE ALREADY AWARE OF.

So, the best episode of the season essentially ruins the finale for me, and based on how this season was constructed, it isn't ridiculous to expect it to ruin the main beats of next season.

Granted, the writers could surprise me and do something unexpected, but there were so few surprises this season, and such great dependence on contrived elements, that I can't lean on recent evidence to support such dreams.

If there is anything positive to say about this episode, it is that it ended what has been a mostly disappointing season. Sure, there are maybe 7 or 8 good episodes and 1 or 2 great ones. But the majority didn't live up to what the previous two seasons had built up. There was no great payoff. It all seems so convenient. And one must wonder what went wrong?

This happens on many great shows. They have solid seasons with daring and unique payoffs and then, suddenly, it is as if the writers stop giving a shit. Or they lose touch with the part of themselves that was passionate about not just telling different kinds of stories (FRINGE is at least still doing that) but telling them WELL.

If I had to rate this episode, I'd give it:

72 out of 100

If I had to rate this season, I'd give it:

75 out of 100

Too bad. Let's see if they can salvage this whole thing and not just tell a convincing, well written, and consistent story, but also do so without losing what made the show so loved: its characters.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

05 May, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.21: 'Brave New World Part 1'


Walter is forced to revisit his painful past when a fringe event causes people to spontaneously combust; the team faces off with David Robert...

Plot
The episode starts with some fringe event where about two dozen people experience spontaneous combustion. There are survivors and one of them volunteers to be tested on to create an antidote. Immediately I am convinced she is part of this since 1) she seems way too eager and 2) because it is Rebecca Mader, best known for her work on LOST.

There is NO WAY IN HELL she's coming on the show just to play a bit part.

In Walter's lab, she is about to fry out when Olivia uses her super powers to cool her down and save her life. We've been seeing a bit of Olivia's abilities lately and apparently they are building up to something. At this point I start to think this is all an evil plan by Jones to get her to do his bidding.

We then find out that William Bell has been pulling the strings all along and that Jones works for him. The two discuss chess and sacrificing pawns. Bell tells Jones that in this case, they have to sacrifice the bishop (Bishop is implied). I suppose if you aren't a super genius, it isn't obvious at this point that Jones will soon be dead, sacrificed as Bell's bishop in his master plan.

When Jones utilizes some solar death ray device thingy to cook the planet, Peter and Olivia go to stop him.

They succeed but Peter is attacked by Jones. As Peter is getting his young ass kicked by the much older Jones, Olivia discovers another power, remote controlling, and swings her arms like a goofy cartoon character, defeating Jones through Pacey Poof's apparent pussy arms. I laughed.

Anyway, so Jones dies only realizing at the end that he was the bishop in Bell's chess game. So long, farewell, and thanks for all the fish. Though, if you think about it for two seconds, Bell couldn't possibly have known Jones would get defeated in that manner on the roof. So, either Jones was making a silly assumption, or this is lazy writing.

Meanwhile, Walter and Astrid walk into a trap, Astrid is shot, and Bell meets with his bestest buddy once again.

To be continued...

Quotables
Jessica: What are you?
Walter: (confused) I'm human, what are you? Is this some sort of alien invasion? Are you part of a strike...
Jessica: (interrupting) No I mean, I mean, what are you doing here? Are you a doctor?

Walter: May I take a blood sample? The discomfort will only be momentary.
Jessica: That's what all you men say.
Walter: You're very brave.

Bell: I'm not sure I ever thought I would see you again. (pause) Hello, old friend.

Rating
If I had to rate this one, and Bell's creepy eyes say I do, then I'd give it:

76 out of 100

Penultimate episodes are supposed to be bigger, badder, and better than this. That finale now needs to deliver all the awesomeness this episode didn't.

Some positives: I loved seeing Astrid shooting a gun; it was nice to see Peter and Olivia have an actual sweet moment together... in bed; Olivia's growing power is intriguing; and having William Bell back and as the apparent bad guy at least elevates the possibilities of what is to come.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

28 April, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.20: 'Worlds Apart'


Both teams fight for the same cause; shocking developments related to the Cortexiphan children arise.

Plot
Following last week's awesome episode, this one was bound to not feel as epic or good. And it didn't disappoint.

And by that I mean, it did disappoint because it couldn't possibly live up to the sudden rise in expectation. It is funny how these things work out. Three weeks ago, I would have been thrilled with an episode like 'Worlds Apart' but then 'Letters of Transit' had to come along and spoil the whole bunch.

Kind of like how 'The Empire Strikes Back' ruined Star Wars by being so good --all the other movies seem lame when compared to it.

That's not to say this latest episode was bad. In fact, I liked a majority of it. It wasn't too obvious, or too heavy handed (that's not to say it wasn't obvious or heavy handed). I wasn't screaming at the TV for most of it, cursing the writers for treating its audience like half-witted monkeys. Instead, I simply felt a twinge of interest about where things were going, and suddenly thankful that FOX just renewed the show for a 5th and final season.

Oh yeah, that happened this week. Thank Warner Brothers kids, because apparently they gave away the licensing rights for 13 more episodes for so cheap, that FOX couldn't say no. Though no announcement has been made about the schedule, I wouldn't be surprised to see them burn the show off from September to January, much like what NBC did with the 13 episode fifth and final season of CHUCK. Though, if we are fortunate, the FRINGE writers won't tell their best story arc in seven episodes and then limp home in the final six.

But I digress.

So what happened? To put it simply, in the pursuit of Jones and his dastardly plan to destroy a universe or two, the gang discovers that the evil doctor has been using those super powered kiddies from Walter's old X-Men school of Cortexiphan to cause earthquakes to create ripple effects in the fabric of time and blahblahblahblah. The team ends up capturing one of these agents of evil, who then tells Olivia that Jones has convinced the Cortexiphan kids to fight to save this universe because the other side is gearing up for a war. Olivia seemingly convinces him that Jones has been lying but stupidly allows him to trick the team and escape. Come on...

In the end, the decision is made to shut off The Machine to cut the ties between the two worlds and save everyone.

Lincoln, the pussy left standing, decides to go with the alternate universe people since he now feels closer kinship to them (good riddance). And despite Walter's fears, Peter doesn't go all Pacey Poof on him again.

Could I have written more about the plot? Sure. But why bother when this was clearly just a setup for the final two episodes. Now we will see how much of an effect shutting off The Machine will have on Jones' plans. And how their most recent actions somehow leads to the world we saw in last week's episode. Unless, of course, we never see that (which I doubt).

Quotables
Broyles: So I'll ask what we're all thinking. If this is indeed how Jones intends to collapse our universes, how many more quakes will it take to make that happen?
Walter: Frankly, I'm surprised it hasn't already.
Pacey Poof: *gulp*

Rating
If I had to rate this episode, and I don't, I'd give it:

78 out of 100

It wasn't terrible. I actually liked some of it. But following what was clearly a far superior episode, and for being nothing more than an interesting setup, this one earns its lower score. And I think it is one of those episodes where it seems more interesting while watching than it does once you are done with it. Though, and I didn't mention this in the main part of this review, John Noble always impresses me with his ability to create such totally distinct characters in the same scene, that I never think of them as the same actor while in-scene.

I doubt this is the last we will see of the alternate universe. But if it is, then this show officially sucks!



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

20 April, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.19: 'Letters of Transit'


The Observers and the team engage in a battle in the year 2036.

Plot
First, let me just geek out a little bit.

Henry Ian Cusick is in this episode! Desmond Hume from LOST is in this episode! Wow.

Cusick plays a guy named Simon Foster who seems to be a team lead in Fringe Division that is now comprised of agents who essentially police "natives" since the Observers, who we are told took over in 2015, are too busy banging whores and getting drunk on water.

Etta, an agent who has the ability to hide her thoughts from the Observers, is in possession of an amber encased Walter Bishop. An informant apparently found him and two other amber encased individuals, but is killed before he can tell her their location.

We meet old man Broyles who is still running things but taking threatening suggestions from the Observers about the natives.

Simon and Etta figure out a way to get Walter out of the amber, and after some candy munching, discuss with him the Observer problem and how to get rid of them. 20-years earlier Walter created a way to vanquish those pesky bastards before ending up in the amber. The agents are in possession of the plans for this device. Unfortunately for the agents, they quickly realize that Walter is suffering from brain damage.

Etta brings Walter to a wheelchair bound Nina Sharp trying to figure out a solution to their problem. Nina tells them they need to get a piece of Walter's brain from the old Massive Dynamic building, which is within a city full of Observers. MISSION!

At the old Massive Dynamic lab, the gang finds Walter's brain tissue. Walter then goes to sleep so Simon can tell Etta a story about the horrors of 2015 and the birth of the resistance. I don't mind this bit of exposition because Cusick is an amazing actor and he could say virtually anything and make it riveting. This little bit is as good as anything our main characters have delivered this season.

Walter eventually wakes up, having already been injected with his dissolved brain tissue. Now fully himself, he is quickly brought up to speed just as security forces and an Observer descend on the lab.

Inside the lab, as Walter checks out the plans to make his Observer busting device, he tells the agents that September once told him that the planet was ruined in 2609 and that the Observers traveled back in time to take this planet --or this planet in this time- for themselves. As the enemy approaches, the gang makes its escape leaving an improvised explosive device of mass destruction behind to take out their pursuers, and the entire building.

Having made their escape, Walter leads the agents to the location of the rest of his amber encased team. They release Astrid from her 20-year old prison cell, but their extraction device is damaged in the process. When Simon realizes that his tracking device has led authorities right to them, he physically forces Peter out by taking his place. This is done with some trickery as the audience is meant to think Simon saves William Bell, but we later discover the truth, and that Walter has cut off Bell's hand (likely because Leonard Nimoy wasn't available) for use in some future purpose.

At the end we, along with Peter, realize that Etta is Henrietta... his daughter.

TO BE CONTINUED...

Quotables
When a guard stops the agents and Walter and asks for their paperwork, Walter channels Star Wars.
Walter: These are not the droids you're looking for.

After the guard lets them go.
Walter: Move along.

Rating
If I had to rate this episode, and Walter's amber coffin says I do, then I'd give it:

95 out of 100

A shockingly well acted, written, produced, shot, and paced episode where the majority of it is focused on characters we have never met before. While I suspected that Etta could somehow be related to one of our main characters, the moment when she reveals herself to be Peter and Olivia's daughter was effective and emotional. I'd say the same for the whole episode. If there were any missteps, I ignored them because I was intrigued about the direction it was headed. Though, for a few minutes after it ended, I wondered if this wasn't a much better direction to take most of this season, instead of a couple, or handful of episodes.

Anyway, for maybe the first time this season, I am literally DYING to see the next episode. Can this show finish strong after delivering a less than stellar season? Can it pull a LOST season 3?!

Tune in next week.... and yeah, I know I could have quoted more of this episode but my head hurts. Sue me.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

14 April, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.18: 'The Consultant'


Walter goes to the alternate universe to help investigate an event that ties to both worlds.

PLOT
Flee is buried as his mother spouts off the most cliched line in the history of moving pictures.

People are literally popping up dead, as if they've been involved in a plane crash, even though they weren't on a plane. Turns out a plane crashed in the alternate universe and caused a ripple effect. Walter goes to the other side to check it out.

Through some testing, Walter posits that the plane crash was caused by some device. A scene with David Robert Jones validates this theory as he acknowledges it was a test.

Jones then shows up at Froyles' home and we discover that the colonel's traitorous ways are motivated by his love for his son and a need to see him healthy. Apparently DRJ has the ability to make that happen.

Astrid gives a happily surprised Fastrid some coffee, as the two sides investigate yet another death, and the doppelgangers act as go-between. The investigation turns up a device the teams attribute to David Robert Jones.

Froyles bonds with Walter's terrible decision making related to saving his son. This seems to motivate him to continue his traitorous ways as he meets with DRJ to take possession of a device that needs planting.

A drunk Fauxlivia discusses the mole problem at her department, that led to the death of Flee, with Walter. She appears emotionally spent. Walter comforts her with food. They spitball some ideas about who the mole could be and decide it would have to be someone high up. Walter offers up the colonel. Fauxlivia shoots him down. He counters that no one should be above suspicion. This seems to have an affect on her of some kind and leads her to go talk to the recently captured Fina. She tells her they have already arrested Froyles as the mole. Fina buys the ruse and gives him up.

At Liberty Island, Froyles seems to be carrying out his nefarious mission for Jones, with Lincoln and Fauxlivia in hot pursuit, but instead has turned himself and the device in to Broyles.

As Walter returns home, Lincoln stays behind to help Fauxlivia.

Back at Walter's lab, he tells Pacey Poof and Olivia that had Froyles successfully planted his device, Jones could collapse both universes.

QUOTABLES
Walter: It's a miracle we made it in one piece! You drive like a daredevil!
Astrid: For the eleventh time, Walter, I drive the speed limit.
Walter: Most automobile fatalities occur driving between work and home.
Astrid: Yes, so does most driving.

Fauxlivia: Do you think that someone could have caused this?
Walter: On purpose? Anything is possible, even Santa Claus.

Lincoln: You couldn't bring over a casserole but a severed hand is okay?

Fauxlivia: Can't you sleep? Was the bed too hard?
Walter: No, I was sleeping like a baby. Sadly, my bladder was not.

RATING
If I had to rate this episode, and the stench from Flee's rotting corpse demands I do, I'd give it:

84 out of 100

The episode had some good scenes between characters but the Walter and Fauxlivia sequence, in her apartment, could have used more time. I still find Lincoln to be a massive bore. And the answer to the case seemed way too obvious early on, so Walter's final words didn't have the intended impact.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

06 April, 2012

Review FRINGE 4.17: 'Everything in Its Right Place'


So we finally know the most burning question in the show's history!

Tyrone.

Lincoln's middle name is Tyrone.

This episode focused heavily on Lincoln and his clone from another universe, the man I call Flee. Flee, mind you, is ten times cooler than Lincoln. So, whenever the show goes to the other universe, I am actually excited (unlike some of you who seem to think only the stupidity of the other universe matters).

First, let me quote my favorite moment in the episode, as Flee and Fauxlivia describe a series of killings in their world.

Flee: She reports that during the attack someone saved her.
Fauxlivia: You think this may have something to do with the vigilante cases PD's been working?
Flee: My thoughts exactly. Local police received a dozen similar reports in the last few months. Criminals going missing. Junkies mysteriously vanishing. Victims calling in claiming that their assailants were attacked mid-crime.
Lincoln: Maybe Batman's moved to The Bronx.
Fauxlivia: What's a Batman?
Lincoln: The Caped Crusader. The Dark Knight. (Seeing that they are still confused) Billionaire playboy puts on a cape to clean up the streets of Gotham.
Flee: Oh, you mean Mantis!
Lincoln: Seriously? Your hero is an insect?
Fauxlivia: Oh, 'cause nothing says 'badass' like a flying rat?

So Lincoln, trying to avoid the mental stress of seeing Olivia happy with Peter while having totally forgotten him, decides to stick around in the alternate universe and help solve Flee and Fauxlivia's case. As they work, Flee questions Lincoln's reason for volunteering to stay. Lincoln takes this opportunity to note the differences between the two.

Lincoln: Yeah, I noticed that about you. Your unwavering confidence.
Flee: Thanks.
Lincoln: Bordering on self-aggrandising narcissism.

The two discuss their differences and begin to compare life experiences as a way to define the point of divergence, where one became different from the other, but find nothing.

Anyway, so on Lincoln's hunch the investigation leads them to believe that the bad guy is a shape-shifter. That's really convenient since Lincoln is hell-bent on finding them since one killed his partner. And the colonel, who we know is a corrupted douchebag working for the bad guys, punts his theories and knees him in the groin for good measure.

Stuff happens and the shape-shifter is found. But when he has the opportunity to kill the massive pussy Lincoln, he doesn't. He is then captured and the evil Colonel Broyles calls on the evil Nina, aka Fina.

It is really impressive how expensive this show can look.. a show that's getting lower ratings in season 4 than CHUCK was... but looks like it is made for ten times as much. What the fuck kind of shitty deal did NBC make with WB? Or is it really just about Torv being the niece of the dude who owns FOX? If so, then bring on season 5 and an increased budget!

So, Lincoln convinces Fauxlivia to let him interrogate the captured shape-shifter as the evil dudes send their assassin to take him out. Through his questioning, Lincoln learns virtually nothing. Yay.

As the prisoner is transported out of the jail, the sniper assassin fires and misses his target but hits Flee. Oh no! Not the cool one, dicks!

Pussy Lincoln goes all badass on the shape-shifter dude and gives him an inspirational speech about defining his place in the world or some crap that is meant as a juxtaposition of their respective lives. Meh. What happened to these writers? These can't be the same cats who wrote the second half of season 2, or season 3. Did they really get this lazy?

Anyway, still in the alternate universe, Fina is betrayed by her assassin, who is actually just the shape-shifter who Lincoln speechified, and captured by Fauxlivia.

Sadly, Flee dies from his wound, even though he once survived being burned to a crisp. What's the point of living anymore in a world where he doesn't exist but pussy-boy does?

Lincoln brings the shape-shifter over to the other side to be studied by Walter.

Then, as Fauxlivia cries over Flee, Lincoln returns to give her moral support. And by moral support I mean that he's totally going to bang her.

If I had to rate this episode, and there's really no reason why I should, I'd give it:

65 out of 100

Maybe the death of Flee will have greater meaning down the road, and maybe the shape-shifter thingy will play itself out over the next few episodes, but this was mostly a dud outside of the couple of moments of dialogue I quoted.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

18 February, 2012

FRINGE 4.13: 'A Better Human Being'


Last week we left off with Olivia kissing Pacey Poof and we jump right into the minutes following that moment. And just as anyone should have expected, they don't decide to jump into bed for special sexy time. But there's definitely something going on inside her little brain that is a bit more serious than a headache.

In the case-of-the-week world, a mental patient named Sean has some power that witnesses, or controls, an evil home invasion murder. When the FBI goes to investigate, Olivia continues to experience some kind of residual flash memories about Peter. Or to be more specific, the previous timeline, before Peter got erased.

This eventually brings her back to Peter's place where she continues to demonstrate a greater memory of that world. In fact, she seems to remember everything. So, naturally, Peter thinks something must be wrong because it couldn't be possible that he's in the right world and that everyone just forgot him. And it couldn't be possible that the woman he loves is this woman because then he'd have to bang her right there and then, making this episode awesome!

Instead, they decide to do brain tests on her. Peter looks at her intensely, all serious and shit, while she stares back at him lovingly, the way a woman does when she can't stand being without her man for another second and needs to just go home and BE WITH HIM! Obviously this means something is wrong with her.

Walter questions her about the series of events that led them to work together and she goes through the timeline Peter remembers. Instead of being all "HOLY SHIT! MY WIFE IS BACK! Walter, get the fuck out, I gotsa snog her" he goes for emobitch instead and shakes his head and waxes idiotically about her being wrong since that's his timeline, like some kid who just watched his sandbox buddy steal his crayons and wants 'em back.

So Walter surmises that Olivia is somehow empathizing memories through Peter's need for his Olivia and no one thinks for a second "Hey, you know, maybe it's just that little Pete here got erased and we all forgot him, but somehow returned and oh hell, let's fuck!"

Nope, Olivia is channeling Peter's memories. Or... wait, Walter was about to figure it out when he lost the thought. Is this better or worse than mashing the reset button?

Lincoln shows up to move the case-of-the-week forward, because anyone still watching this show is really just interested in the least interesting parts. But thankfully, before they go off to solve it, Walter tells Peter that he must be enabling Olivia's fake memories, thereby instilling him with guilt and responsibility.

"Chuck, we can't be together. I'm your handler and you're an asset..."

But I digress.

Case-of-the-week blahblahblah, we get back to Olivia and Peter interacting and she finds an excuse to touch his hand (no pun intended, but that was a nice touch by the writers, as I was thinking "if this were real, she would find any excuse to touch him" and then she did) and of course Walter's mental douche seed prevents Peter from letting the moment play out naturally. Not that I would expect the writers to let it happen quickly, but I'm sure it is tough to put up with this kind of stalling tactic if you are very impatient.

The episode so effectively puts the attention on Peter and Olivia that I am barely able to give even the tiniest bag of fucksticks about the case plot as they go to interview some dude. Jackson makes an interesting acting choice in the scene as Olivia interviews the doc, repeatedly looking at her as if studying her behavior, perhaps for any sign of familiarity, or worry about her state of mind.

Back in his lab, Walter tests Olivia's hair, and finds doses of gjkllfindfhtan (like I'm going to even bother researching how to spell it) in her system and runs to Nina to find out why. She plays dumb but Lincoln and Walter demand to see the storage room where Massive Dynamic keeps their supply.

We are then tossed back into Olivia vs. Peter land as they track down something and they continue to talk about their feelings. This reminds me a lot of season 3 when they had their back and forth discussions about Fauxlivia and what their feelings meant. I think the writers handle these realistically, at least in the way they talk to each other, and about what they would say, but as with season 3, there is also an unnatural stall tactic being utilized that deflates the ever growing weight of these scenes. I get that the writers want to nearly burst that bubble before they give the audience what they want to see, and it probably works for the majority of viewers, but for those who are less patient (or see the obviousness of why these scenes play out this way) it can get maddeningly stupid.

Anyway, Olivia has a memory of something that Peter doesn't and he deduces that Walter's theory is incorrect, since he couldn't be projecting memories or knowledge he never possessed. Olivia seems very enlightened and willing to just let this wave of emotion wash over her, while Peter continues to scowl at the thought of his own potential happiness. Before they can discuss it further, they are attacked, but survive because they are badass. Unfortunately, the doc that has something to do with the pointless part of this episode isn't so lucky and gets pillowed to death.

I guess the case-of-the-week is over, I looked away from the screen for five seconds, but Peter and Olivia get back to talking about their relationship and Olivia wants him in a bad way. And Peter wants his Olivia wet and naked (I am projecting). And yeah, the angst is up to like Chuck and Sarah waking up in each other's arms in the motel room level (can I make more CHUCK references in this review?). Finally Peter admits that he's been afraid of betraying the woman he loves, like he did during the Fauxlivia portion of season 3, but that he knows in his heart that this Olivia is the right one and they kiss. Awwwww.

Olivia responds by running to the bathroom. No one should be surprised when this turns out badly.

At MD, Nina, Lincoln, and Walter find that none of the oblugfffffinfan is missing. But when Walter drinks some like it's fruit-punch, he exclaims it's fakery! Oh nos! The stuff I can't spell has been replaced!

Back at the peepee gas station, Peter discovers that Olivia has gone missing. And soon we discover that she is tied up somewhere with Nina. The real Nina?! Ruhroh, what's real anymore? PRESS THE RESET BUTTON, KIDDIES! We going on this ride again!

If I had to rate this one, I'd give it:

90 out of 100

This would have gotten a 95 if not for the fact that I knew at every step of the way that something was going to get in the way of whatever progress we were getting. Mind you, I think this is probably a smart move by the writers. It gives Peter something to fight for and the audience knows that Peter and Olivia have accepted their love for each other in this world, or something. Part of the lower score is also my sense that this is still way too early to play out this rescue story line and that we will get some kind of reset of their feelings (or timeline) before long. So, call it an apprehensive 90 that could have been a 95 if not for the plotting being too obvious and my belief that they have to backtrack on this progress soon.

However, if they don't backtrack, I will return and boost this score up to a 95! Woohoo!

What did you think?



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE