Showing posts with label Fringe review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Fringe review. Show all posts

12 January, 2013

Review - FRINGE 5.11: 'The Boy Must Live' or how the writers think you are all f**kin' stupid


Give me a break, guys.

If there is ever a category for lamest retcon in the history of sci-fi/fantasy television shows, it should go to FRINGE.

"The boy must live" suddenly means baldboy Michael?  Because he must return to the source like Neo and then everyone will see the error of their ways and then the Observers will never exist?

Of course if the Observers never exist, then the series of events caused by them will never exist, which means when Walter takes Peter back through the portal there will be no September there to save them and so NONE OF THIS WILL HAVE HAPPENED!!!!!

But of course that's not how it will go down because they will just make it fit even if it doesn't.

The writers think you are all stupid.

And perhaps a lot of you are. Or you will just eat up anything because it is the show you love.

For you guys, why do you read reviews? Why do you read comments about the show you love? Just to read someone agreeing with you?

Anyway, what a mess. What a joke of a final season. The writers, and any critic who praises them, should be embarrassed.

If I had to rate this episode, and I don't, I'd give it:

0 out of 100

A massive turd was just deposited into the mouth of a show I once loved. Thank the gods it is over next week.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

14 December, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.09: 'Black Blotter'


"I wanted to cry for you. But I'm different now."

Walter's acid trip toward the reconstitution of his brain brings a fairy good time.

I know what you are wondering. Did this episode make up for the general weakness of this season? Did the writers finally remember what this series is about and put more focus on characters and relationships over slow plotting boredom? I mean, did they do so without spreading a ton of moldy cheese all over it?

Maybe?

We did get some amount of Walter tripping, Astrid looking cute, and Peter & Olivia in-love. These things work well so the writers have spent a large amount of time not utilizing them out of fear of making what many love about the show less interesting.

That makes a lot of sense since purposely making the show suck DOES elevate the enjoyment of those elements when they are actually utilized well.

So a signal brings our heroes to a house where the Observer kid with the terribly hidden bald-cap is being protected by some old dude and a frail woman. And that's when Walter joins a Monty Python sketch to save the day. After some talk, the gang takes the weirdo back to their secret base and tries to make him drink hot coco. It is here, during some dumb dialogue, that it becomes clear that this kid is September. Not to the characters, of course. That would be too easy. But to anyone with a brain.

In the end, Walter trips some more balls and then sets fire to his damnation. Unfortunately, he is already doomed. He now knows and soon the world will end by his hands.

Did I skip a story element that would illuminate the meaning behind what I just wrote?  If it feels like I'm not putting a lot of effort into this review, consider your observational skills tested and confirmed to be in working condition.

If I had to rate this episode, and the makeup department over at WB says I don't, then I'd give it:

76 out of 100

It wasn't terrible.

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

16 November, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.07: 'Five-Twenty-Ten'


In this week's episode, something happens. Then something else. Finally, something happens that makes you go "wooooo!" as you wait weeks for whatever comes next.

I truly don't have much to say about this episode. So let me sum it up in some bullets.

  • Walter's complete brain makes him do bad things and love won't change that.
  • Peter can see the future and shit because he's turning into an Observer.
  • Olivia is worried about Peter.
  • The Observers still haven't gotten around to noticing those Etta "Resist" signs. I suppose they could think they are advertisements for a new deodorant for the dead.

The only truly effective thing that this episode did was shit on the ridiculous notion often bandied about by television people that a 13-episode season means meatier episodes and no fluff.

Clearly they could have dished out a majority of this shit in one act. Instead, they stretched it out for an entire episode. Lame.

If I had to rate this episode, and I truly don't, I'd give it:

60 out of 100

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

09 November, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.06: 'Through the Looking Glass and What Walter Found There'


Dear friends, I was unable to write a review last week due to a megastorm that knocked out power across the area. I did discuss what I thought of the episode in our latest podcast but decided not to catch up with a written review. If you were disappointed by that, then I apologize for failing your expectations.

My recent complaints have been about Olivia's lack of a primal grief over her daughter's death. As I stated on the podcast, there is no believable reason for this. Sure, Olivia did have something in last week's episode that one could say was a nice moment for the actor/character but it wasn't primal grief. It wasn't about losing control. And when people lose someone they can't replace, they have those moments even if they are emotionally protective. Humans can't control themselves in those moments. The grief escapes.

So I went into this episode very disappointed by how the writers have treated Olivia's reactions (minus that one moment, as I indicated), but very happy with the Pacey Poof material. Not much changed this time around. The episode starts with Peter still holding onto his grief and Olivia still acting much too amiable about the whole thing. Sure, the two share a nice moment together but Peter continues to deliver an appearance of stress, anger, and grief while Olivia has a much too accepting disposition. As if she finds all of this a bit cute or sweet. It feels unnatural.

As for the rest of the episode, Walter's hunt for his hidden puzzle pieces was interesting in that I wondered where it was going but also silly in that he didn't realize how dangerous it would be to go out alone to do it.

Though, an even bigger and growing issue I have with this season is how slow and incapable the Observers seem to be whenever the show needs them to be, and how quick and capable they seem at other times.  I am not sure if this whole evil Observer story line will pay off well down the line, but they were so much more interesting when they seemed like detached time travelers who existed for some less-than-evil purpose. Now they are nothing more than more strangely dressed agents from THE MATRIX.

Let me mention some things I did like: the previously mentioned moment between Peter and Olivia; the way the alternate world worked differently on technology; Peter irritatingly pushing Walter through the time warp (toward the end) as Walter tries to do his little dance shuffle; though the setup to it happening was silly, the Pacey Poof Neo Vs. Agent Observer fight was pretty cool, and I think they even used a musical nod to THE MATRIX in there; Peter's new powers!

On that last point, the Observer's warning about what Peter has done to himself is likely to turn into something completely fuckin' stupid as these things usually do.

If I had to rate this episode, and some little albino boy says I do, then I'd give it:

78 out of 100

This show has seen better days. And worse. I gave the episode an extra 3 points for the final minutes which had some nice John Noble acting.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

12 October, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.03: 'The Recordist'


When the team goes out looking for clues to Walter's Observer-killing weapon, they meet up with people who have been keeping records of the history of humanity post-occupation. And stuff happens.

After last week's killer episode failed to really create much dialogue in the comments section about anything but Anna Torv, Joshua Jackson, and the amount of screen time each get versus which is a better actor (yeah, that happened), I wonder what argument either side will make this week.

Because both received a fair amount of screen time.

Both had a fair amount of good scenes.

Both delivered pretty good performances.

Granted, Joshua Jackson is the superior actor.

Oh shit. I just started it all over again!

I kid.  Well, not that Jackson is the superior actor or the one with better scenes, but that I was trying to stir up any shit.  Though, having said what I said it probably comes off a bit disingenuous for me to say that. Oh well.  Like it matters what I say anyway. Last week I just talked about how awesome the episode was and barely got a peep about that in the comments section.

Why the fuck am I writing about the comments section in a review about the episode?  I have been effectively trolled!

So this episode wasn't brilliant but it wasn't mediocre either.  It did move the story along. It did tackle some of Olivia's simmering emotional issues about abandoning her husband and his search for their daughter and her reasoning made sense. 

She had given up hope.  She couldn't see past her depressed outlook.  All she could see was that she had lost again.  All this the cause of a messed up childhood where she was used and abused by those who were meant to look after her. It is a good bit of believable writing.

Pacey Poof's moments were pretty effective too. Jackson has such a wonderful hold on his character's heart that he never fails to tap into that emotional side when he needs it. And with Olivia as the cold one, Peter needs to be the one who speaks for their relationship.  Otherwise the audience would be left wondering why they ever fell for each other.

Apart from those elements, the rest of the episode had some good beats like the mole who calls the rebels to warn them of the incoming enemy; Walter just wanting to get high; Astrid the laser surgeon and VHS fixer; freaky looking kid who made graphic novels out of the legends of the Fringe unit; creepy black stuff; a sacrifice; and a montage (I love a good montage!).

For an episode that surfed the line of significance and insignificance, it worked for me.

If I had to rate this episode, and Walter's suit of armor says I do, then I'd give it:

83 out of 100

So what did you think?  I mean, beside the obvious stuff of how much it sucked. Oh and see you in two-weeks!

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

06 October, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.02: 'In Absentia'


Hardcore fans of any show can easily turn into ass-kissing douchebags or hate-everything assholes once it has been on long enough (my often mentioned post-season 2 phenomenon). And it is difficult, as someone who finds himself trying to be objectively critical, to not side with the haters more often than I do the ass-kissers. But being someone who prides himself on being able to maintain objectivity even when show writers make it difficult to not dive headfirst into negativity, I definitely root for quality.

In this episode, quality emerged with a vengeance.

Trying to shy away from the hyperbole of feeling blown away by something just watched, I am going to stop myself from proclaiming this "one of the best episodes in the series."

Fuck it, I just failed.

THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST EPISODES OF THE SERIES! HOLY SHIT!

One of the things that made this show something of an addiction was the excellent acting and well written characters/dialogue. Throughout the history of the show, those things have trumped the stories, even when they were worthy of praise.  But something happened on the way to season 4 and everyone seemed to, more often than not, lose their focus. As I mentioned in the latest podcast, FRINGE had become a show with characters and situations I loved, but without the intrinsic quality that made me fall in love.

Somehow they rediscovered it in episode 89.

What made it so great? Let me just bullet point it because I am too exhausted from the intensity to recap shit.

  • It's a break-in episode and those rule!
  • It's a grand plan episode and the origin of those ideas are often so much better than the eventual payoff (yes, this probably means the resolution will suck but we live in the now people!).
  • The individual interactions between Etta and her parents were pretty much perfect, with so much unshared pain and frustration between them, yet with love holding them in a bond.
  • Walter being the Walter we all know and love with nutty and hilarious dialogue.
  • A side-story involving an enemy that goes well beyond anything one could have expected (give that man an Emmy nomination!).
  • A somewhat Star Wars like infiltration into the enemy base minus a wookiee and this time to turn the power on.
  • One of the most powerful scenes in show history (when Etta loses her shit upon discovering what had happened to her partner) that is still giving me chills.
  • A powerful ending that ran the gamut of emotions.
  • And all the things I forgot to mention because I'm on such a high right now.

Bravo writers. Superb work. If this is what is to come this season, then I will weep when the show ends.

If I had to rate this episode, and I really want to, I'd give it:

98 out of 100

What did you think?

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

28 September, 2012

Review - FRINGE 5.01: 'Transilience Thought Unifier Model-11'



The beginning of the end of FRINGE is upon us and its fans squee in earnest. But was it worth the wait? Can this final season live up to the hype? Does this episode kick off greatness or invite the coming of disappointment?

Season 4's failure was in building up to several main points that under-delivered. Peter's attempt to return to his timeline was a silly and total waste of time since it should have been obvious to anyone paying attention that he was already in the correct timeline (as I shouted in virtually every single review last year). And the "death" of Olivia that was foreshadowed by September felt totally void of earned drama when it occurred after we had already seen an episode about the future that made it clear she had to have survived.

Not to mention the weak plodding along of the main storyline and its lazy resolution.

However, within that season there were several interesting developments, the greatest being the takeover of Earth by the Observers and the jump-forward into the future where everything has gone wrong and our heroes have to be collected and released from amber to fight the invaders.

That is where we begin this season and at least I am excited to see where it all goes. I am thrilled that the case-of-the-week element has been vanquished from the show (I know some of you dig that).  So this should be a 13-episode fully serialized story about how these characters either save the world or fail and die.

Spoiler: they will save it.  Not that I know anything but... they will. Come on.

What one has to wonder is whether or not the ride will be satisfying. Do these writers have it in them to deliver something worthy of the greatness of say seasons 2 and 3?  Will we feel like the journey, even with some of the missteps, was done justice when the final curtain is pulled back on the series?

I want to be able to say yes but this episode made me a bit worried even though I did like it.

The fundamental problem with it is that we are given certain story beats as expositions and that rarely works. Something happened between Peter and Olivia (and Walter I guess) where Pacey Poof decided to not join them because their daughter was missing? Yeah, I'd like to have seen that not heard about it. And if I couldn't see it, then don't bother explaining it. Or don't even write it. Unless there is some grand plan to have that pay off in some way later, it is just a strip of dangling drama that used up time that could have been spent on emotional points that weren't utilized enough.

In that regard, why have these writers been so afraid, since the end of season 3, to allow Peter and Olivia to have actual intimacy without having to play with their relationship? How many times do we need them to rediscover each other? Does this show even need that? I'd rather focus on whatever and wherever this story wants to take us toward. Again, unless there is some grand plan for that this season, it is just a waste of time.

Anyway, I liked the Walter interrogation scenes even as I cringed at his suffering. I loved the infiltration sequence though it did go by much too quickly (could have extended it by doing away with exposition talk earlier).  I even enjoyed the search for Olivia even if it was completed (again) much too easily.  And I was encouraged by a few character beats that make me wonder about where Henrietta's mind is at and whether she may be a loose cannon at some point.

I also watched the promo that followed the episode and did feel a twinge of excitement about future episodes.  So, while I wasn't blown away by 5.01, I am also not too down on it. Instead, I am cautiously waiting to be blown away.

If I had to rate this episode, and Walter's scrambled brain says I do, then I'd give it:

81 out of 100

Less exposition, less Peter and Olivia emo-sillyness and more shooting Observers would have brought the score up.

CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

24 March, 2012

Review - FRINGE 4.15: 'A Short Story About Love'


And so now we know for sure in what world Peter is in and it wasn't all that difficult to figure out, but if you were still not sure, FOX ran the hashtag #WhereYouBelong in the lower right hand corner of the screen the entire episode.

The case of the week? Something about a dude killing people who are deeply in love. Not important except to set up that Olivia decides to allow the memories of the "other" Olivia to take her over.

The only other truly important things that happen in this episode are:

1. Walter finds something hidden inside Peter's eye that leads him to an apartment that has Observer gear.

2. Peter uses the gear to find a beacon.

3. The beacon activates back at Peter's place and our favorite Observer, September, reveals himself.

4. September explains that he's been locked away by the other Observers but that Peter has helped him get back. Peter then asks for September to help him get back home and is told he is already home (duh, been saying this for the whole season). September explains that he believes this is due to the fact that those who love Peter, and those Peter loves, could not let go of each other, and so the universe couldn't simply erase him from existence.

So now Peter knows that this Olivia is his one and only. And Olivia has made the decision to allow herself to be taken over by someone she thinks isn't her simply because she wants to be in love with Peter.

The final scene has Peter and Olivia in a loving embrace, finally as a couple again.

Awwwww.

And it only took 15 episodes to get to the most obvious answer possible.

If I had to rate this episode, I'd give it:

80 out of 100

I am simply giving it a passing score for finally getting us to the answer that has been there all along. And maybe now, in the final seven episodes, we can stop dicking around and get to a kick ass show.

Sure, I will admit that I found that final moment to be very sweet, but it wasn't as intense as it could have been. And it wasn't as good as the moment they had in the car, in the gas station, just a couple of episodes ago. So, in the end, it was a pointless stalling tactic.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

18 February, 2012

FRINGE 4.13: 'A Better Human Being'


Last week we left off with Olivia kissing Pacey Poof and we jump right into the minutes following that moment. And just as anyone should have expected, they don't decide to jump into bed for special sexy time. But there's definitely something going on inside her little brain that is a bit more serious than a headache.

In the case-of-the-week world, a mental patient named Sean has some power that witnesses, or controls, an evil home invasion murder. When the FBI goes to investigate, Olivia continues to experience some kind of residual flash memories about Peter. Or to be more specific, the previous timeline, before Peter got erased.

This eventually brings her back to Peter's place where she continues to demonstrate a greater memory of that world. In fact, she seems to remember everything. So, naturally, Peter thinks something must be wrong because it couldn't be possible that he's in the right world and that everyone just forgot him. And it couldn't be possible that the woman he loves is this woman because then he'd have to bang her right there and then, making this episode awesome!

Instead, they decide to do brain tests on her. Peter looks at her intensely, all serious and shit, while she stares back at him lovingly, the way a woman does when she can't stand being without her man for another second and needs to just go home and BE WITH HIM! Obviously this means something is wrong with her.

Walter questions her about the series of events that led them to work together and she goes through the timeline Peter remembers. Instead of being all "HOLY SHIT! MY WIFE IS BACK! Walter, get the fuck out, I gotsa snog her" he goes for emobitch instead and shakes his head and waxes idiotically about her being wrong since that's his timeline, like some kid who just watched his sandbox buddy steal his crayons and wants 'em back.

So Walter surmises that Olivia is somehow empathizing memories through Peter's need for his Olivia and no one thinks for a second "Hey, you know, maybe it's just that little Pete here got erased and we all forgot him, but somehow returned and oh hell, let's fuck!"

Nope, Olivia is channeling Peter's memories. Or... wait, Walter was about to figure it out when he lost the thought. Is this better or worse than mashing the reset button?

Lincoln shows up to move the case-of-the-week forward, because anyone still watching this show is really just interested in the least interesting parts. But thankfully, before they go off to solve it, Walter tells Peter that he must be enabling Olivia's fake memories, thereby instilling him with guilt and responsibility.

"Chuck, we can't be together. I'm your handler and you're an asset..."

But I digress.

Case-of-the-week blahblahblah, we get back to Olivia and Peter interacting and she finds an excuse to touch his hand (no pun intended, but that was a nice touch by the writers, as I was thinking "if this were real, she would find any excuse to touch him" and then she did) and of course Walter's mental douche seed prevents Peter from letting the moment play out naturally. Not that I would expect the writers to let it happen quickly, but I'm sure it is tough to put up with this kind of stalling tactic if you are very impatient.

The episode so effectively puts the attention on Peter and Olivia that I am barely able to give even the tiniest bag of fucksticks about the case plot as they go to interview some dude. Jackson makes an interesting acting choice in the scene as Olivia interviews the doc, repeatedly looking at her as if studying her behavior, perhaps for any sign of familiarity, or worry about her state of mind.

Back in his lab, Walter tests Olivia's hair, and finds doses of gjkllfindfhtan (like I'm going to even bother researching how to spell it) in her system and runs to Nina to find out why. She plays dumb but Lincoln and Walter demand to see the storage room where Massive Dynamic keeps their supply.

We are then tossed back into Olivia vs. Peter land as they track down something and they continue to talk about their feelings. This reminds me a lot of season 3 when they had their back and forth discussions about Fauxlivia and what their feelings meant. I think the writers handle these realistically, at least in the way they talk to each other, and about what they would say, but as with season 3, there is also an unnatural stall tactic being utilized that deflates the ever growing weight of these scenes. I get that the writers want to nearly burst that bubble before they give the audience what they want to see, and it probably works for the majority of viewers, but for those who are less patient (or see the obviousness of why these scenes play out this way) it can get maddeningly stupid.

Anyway, Olivia has a memory of something that Peter doesn't and he deduces that Walter's theory is incorrect, since he couldn't be projecting memories or knowledge he never possessed. Olivia seems very enlightened and willing to just let this wave of emotion wash over her, while Peter continues to scowl at the thought of his own potential happiness. Before they can discuss it further, they are attacked, but survive because they are badass. Unfortunately, the doc that has something to do with the pointless part of this episode isn't so lucky and gets pillowed to death.

I guess the case-of-the-week is over, I looked away from the screen for five seconds, but Peter and Olivia get back to talking about their relationship and Olivia wants him in a bad way. And Peter wants his Olivia wet and naked (I am projecting). And yeah, the angst is up to like Chuck and Sarah waking up in each other's arms in the motel room level (can I make more CHUCK references in this review?). Finally Peter admits that he's been afraid of betraying the woman he loves, like he did during the Fauxlivia portion of season 3, but that he knows in his heart that this Olivia is the right one and they kiss. Awwwww.

Olivia responds by running to the bathroom. No one should be surprised when this turns out badly.

At MD, Nina, Lincoln, and Walter find that none of the oblugfffffinfan is missing. But when Walter drinks some like it's fruit-punch, he exclaims it's fakery! Oh nos! The stuff I can't spell has been replaced!

Back at the peepee gas station, Peter discovers that Olivia has gone missing. And soon we discover that she is tied up somewhere with Nina. The real Nina?! Ruhroh, what's real anymore? PRESS THE RESET BUTTON, KIDDIES! We going on this ride again!

If I had to rate this one, I'd give it:

90 out of 100

This would have gotten a 95 if not for the fact that I knew at every step of the way that something was going to get in the way of whatever progress we were getting. Mind you, I think this is probably a smart move by the writers. It gives Peter something to fight for and the audience knows that Peter and Olivia have accepted their love for each other in this world, or something. Part of the lower score is also my sense that this is still way too early to play out this rescue story line and that we will get some kind of reset of their feelings (or timeline) before long. So, call it an apprehensive 90 that could have been a 95 if not for the plotting being too obvious and my belief that they have to backtrack on this progress soon.

However, if they don't backtrack, I will return and boost this score up to a 95! Woohoo!

What did you think?



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

10 February, 2012

Review: FRINGE 4.12 - 'Welcome to Westfield'


This week's episode gives us a bit of progress on Peter's Machine and reintroduces us to Olivia's dreams of Peter.

Peter and Walter have been working on "the machine" issue and need authorization to test out Peter's ability to control it. In the case-of-the-week world, a highway suddenly loses all power and it causes a jetliner to crash. Then as suddenly as it blows up, power is restored. Spooky.

The team is dispatched to investigate with Broyles, Olivia, and Astrid out in the field. As Astrid tries to communicate with Walter remotely he surprises the gang by showing up with Peter. And the show gets closer to what some people actually want to see.

Anyway, so there is something freaky going on in the town Westfield. Walter, Peter, and Olivia go to an eatery so that Walter can get rhubarb pie but soon Walter is in a fight for his life when he is attacked by a knife-wielding demon-eyed freak. Peter jumps in to help but is overpowered. But Olivia saves the day with a well placed shot to the back. So very brave of her.

Inside the eatery, they find a badly injured man named Cliff who is in need of medical attention. They try to take him to the hospital but find themselves reentering the town over and over. Cliff tells them they can't leave. Apparently they can't. Suddenly FRINGE has turned into SUPERNATURAL.

The gang nurses Cliff back to health and he tells them a tale of the town going schizophrenic. He also tells them that a few townspeople are immune to whatever is going on. As they start to get ready to go and investigate Olivia reveals a memory of a case that Walter doesn't remember, but Peter does. And at this point they should all realize that Peter is in the right universe! But they don't.

They try to start up their car but the elecromagneticwhatever won't let them so they go on a stroll through schizombie town. Not long after going on their brisk walk, Olivia gets infected and begins to mumble and whine so this is just like season 1 now.

Our friends-until-the-end go to the local school where the semi-healthy are holed up. There Walter inspects an infected and discovers that they are duplicating body parts or something, like I give a shit. They also mentally go in and out of the past and present.

Next we actually get a moment between Olivia and Peter where she asks a question one would think she would have asked weeks ago. What is the other Olivia like? Peter's explanation and her reaction to it is a nice moment that almost reveals chemistry between these two. But it also reveals that when given the right moment, and the right material, Joshua Jackson is one badass acting motherfucker and should be given this amount of dialogue in every episode.

Just as the two lovers are getting familiar with each other, a chick kills herself. Walter then explains to Peter and Olivia that what's happening is that the current universe, at least in this town, is merging with the alternate universe of the same town or some shit. Those who don't have doppelgangers in the town on the other side are not affected. Suddenly a time rift opens up and shit starts shaking and rolling.

The towns are attempting to merge! People's gonna die!

Thankfully, Peter comes up with a solution. Father and son team up to find the center of whatever I wasn't paying attention. Olivia says some stuff. Peter and Walter draw on a map. The school gang goes on a bus. A schizombie attacks and Walter mace saves the day. In the end, the producers spend half their budget on a totally pointless world-is-ending action sequence.

The town is totally wiped out minus one bicycle shop that is the "eye of the storm." The FBI then finds some of Jones' devices around a perimeter of the town, supposedly set there to make this all happen. I guess he's testing shit so he can destroy bigger crap later. At least they saved the remaining townspeople. Too bad they will have to murder them all to keep their mouths shut about this whole thing.

As the episode closes out, we get a happy exchange between Walter and Peter, but it is evident that Walter is dreading the day he successfully helps Peter get back to his universe. Spoiler, Walter, he won't. So Peter goes to Olivia's place to check up on her and she is all bubbly and familiar and kisses him, seemingly remembering her life with him. And for some strange reason Peter recoils in horror!

Now, I am a man and I've been in love before, so I understand that perhaps he thinks this isn't his Olivia and so he doesn't want to get any strange, even from the girl who is just like his Olivia, but one would think he would allow himself a bit of indulgence. Come on, buddy! Regret it later! Which you won't since this is the girl you love.

Anyway, if I had to rate this one I'd give it:

89 out of 100

Sure, there were some weak points but by the end we had at least gotten forward momentum, plus some good scenes between Peter, Olivia, and Walter. Not to mention that we are finally getting a payoff. Now, what will that mean to the story going from this point on? We shall see. How quickly will they pull this back? Will Olivia remember everything only to lose those memories? Will Peter continue to not figure out the most obvious answer? Tune in!

At least I am excited about next week. That's probably part of why the score is higher.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE