Showing posts with label batman. Show all posts
Showing posts with label batman. Show all posts
27 November, 2012
Furycast 58 - The Last Podcast on Earth, Take 1
VladyGG and HGF discuss how much the listeners rule; Yvonne Strahovski and DEXTER; bunch of movies; who will direct STAR WARS; Tenacious D does jazz; plus more.
If you listen, we love you. If you don't, we hate you... unless you decide to listen, then we unhate you and choose to love you instead.
Press play below.
You can also DOWNLOAD this podcast as an MP3 by right clicking on this link and saving it to your hard drive. I recommend this since it is of a higher quality.
Click this link to subscribe to our podcast via iTunes.
If you have any questions or comments that you want addressed on a future podcast, feel free to call us at 201-639-GEEK (4335) and leave a message!
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
11 September, 2012
Furycast 40 - Super Excited
In this episode, Vladdy GG and HGF discuss the future of the podcast, DARK KNIGHT RISES, PROMETHEUS, and stuff. View the list below for the information and time.
Consider EVERY discussion a potential SPOILER discussion.
00:00 - 00:39 Musical Intro - Daft Punk, Derezzed
00:40 - 06:26 Podcast Opening
06:27 - 13:35 DARK KNIGHT RISES
13:36 - 22:31 PROMETHEUS
22:32 - 23:44 RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK
23:45 - 26:15 "They don't make movies like this anymore" (Star Wars talk)
26:16 - 28:08 End of episode ("everyone does a podcast")
28:09 - 28:54 Musical Outro - Mastodon, Blasteroid
You can also DOWNLOAD this podcast as an MP3 by right clicking on this link and saving it to your hard drive.
Click this link to subscribe to our podcast via iTunes.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
01 May, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises - Official Trailer #3
While Marvel gets set to unleash it's orgy of heroes this Friday, Warner decided to drop the last trailer for that "other" summer hero movie last night.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Labels:
batman,
Christopher Nolan,
The Dark Knight Rises
22 October, 2011
Batman Year One: Does This Bat Own The Night?

When Warner/DC announced an animated movie based on Frank Miller's seminal 1987 Batman comic origin story late last year, yours truly went into a state of geek induced fanboy ecstasy. You see Miller's one two punch of Batman: Year One and Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (1986) are the cornerstone of modern Batman stories and my personal favorites. They are hallowed ground in the realm of Batman mythos. Now Batman Year One The Animated Movie is upon us. Does it deliver?
First off, for those of you that have no clue what Batman Year One is about stop reading this right now. Just click back on your browsers, get up, go find a nice wall, preferably brick, and go ram your heads into it. That is what you deserve for being so clueless as to the greatness that is Frank Miller's Batman Year One. It's one of the thematic templates on which many Batman stories of the last quarter century, including Christopher Nolan's Batman Begins have been modeled upon. After the brick wall has finished having it's way with you, do yourselves a favor and go and pick up a copy of the graphic novel and while you're at it pick up Batman: The Dark Knight Returns as well. Don't any of you lazy fucks go reading the Wikipedia entry on it either. After reading it, come back here and finish this post. Trust me, from your comments below, I'll know if you read it or not. You call yourselves...geeks. You disgust me.
Anyway, I digress. Now onto to the flick. Is it worth it? MEH.
In terms of staying true to the source material it certainly does a good job but to the point of detriment. It is so faithful, that fans of the orignal may find themselves bored. For newbies, I'd say read the orignal first prior to seeing this adaptation. Scenes are like panels out of the comic. Dialogue is word for word. All the major beats are there, Lieutenant Gordon's story, Bruce Wayne's first adventure(s) as Batman, the introduction of Catwoman, the corruption in Gotham City. it's all there. But it lacks soul. It really doesn't have it's own identity. It does an admirable job of presenting the static nature of the comic in a dynamic way but there's not much else. This saddens me.
There is a lot of talent behind this production. Bruce Timm is the executive producer, who I'd say knows a thing or two about the Dark Knight considering his Batman: The Animated Series is the considered one the best adaptations of the Bat...ever. The voice talent (for the most part) is stellar. Bryan Cranston of Breaking Bad is excellently cast as Jim Gordon, who's story this really is. Cranston's owns the role. But that should not surprise anyone. Wait, what was that? You don't watch Breaking Bad? Just end yourselves right now. It doesn't matter that you won't find out who wins Dancing With The Stars this season, you don't deserve to exist. Next is a double dose of geekgasm in the form of Eliza (Faith from Buffy) Dushku as Selina Kyle/Catwoman and Katie (Starbuck) Sackhoff as Sarah Essen, both of whom are relegated to supporting status. Lastly is the unfortunately miscast Ben "Who the fuck is that??" Mckenzie (The O.C., Southland) as young Bruce Wayne/Batman. For this role someone with much more gravitas was needed and Ben never sold me on the idea that he was a younger Bruce let alone Batman.
I really wanted to love the movie, but found myself feeling rather blah after watching it. It's not bad nor particularly very good. It is simply a serviceable telling of an iconic story. Perhaps the producers didn't want to chance it by tampering with one of the comic world's sacred cows. Maybe the right choice would have been not to tamper with it...at all. Who knows?
I may end up watching it again at which point my view may change, but I doubt it. I do hope that DC/Warner and the producers learn from their mistakes while preparing for next year's two part Batman The Dark Knight Returns animated movie. That one better be perfect.
Now to get my real Dark Knight fix, I'll go back to playing Batman Arkham City.
Let me know your thoughts below (only if you think Chaz Buono will win Dancing With The Stars).
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
25 August, 2011
Fall Video Game Release Schedule

The fall video game season essentially begins next week with the release of Madden NFL 12 on Tuesday, August 30th. After that, gamers will suffer a continual onslaught of title releases all the way through to the holiday season.
Here's a breakdown of what's coming to take away your money and free time. Basically, pick your poison.
August 30th
Madden NFL 12 (Multiple platforms)
September 6th
Dead Island (Mulitple platforms)
Resistance 3 (Ps3)
Rise of Nightmares (Xbox 360/Kinect)
September 13th
The Gunstringer (Xbox 360/Kinect)
God of War: Origins Collection (PS3)
NHL 12 (Multiple platforms)
September 20th
Gears of War 3 (Xbox 360)
F1: 2011 (Multiple platforms)
September 27th
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Classic Trilogy HD (PS3)
ICO & Shadow of Colossus Collection (PS3)
FIFA Soccer 12 (Multipe platforms)
X-Men Destiny (Multiple platforms)
October 4th
Dark Souls (Multiple platforms)
NBA2K12 (Multiple platforms)
Rage (Multiple platforms)
October 11th
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record (Multiple platforms)
Forza 4 (Xbox 360)
October 18th
Batman: Arkham City (Multiple platforms)
Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One (PS3)
October 25th
Battlefield 3 (Multiple platforms)
November 1st
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3)
November 8th
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (Multiple platforms)
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection (Multiple platforms)
November 11th
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Multiple platforms)
November 15th
Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary (Xbox 360)
Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Multiple platforms)
Need for Speed: The Run (Multiple platforms)
November 20th
The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii)
This schedule doesn't give a hardcore gamer any time to breathe. All this and I haven't even mentioned when Diablo III and Star Wars: The Old Republic (both for PC) will be dropping.
The only thing I am glad for is that I have a Gamefly account.
Did I miss anything? Which games are you jonesing for? Let me hear about it below.
CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

