06 April, 2012

The Big bang Theory 5.21 -- The Hawking Excitation


Channeling my inner Alan Sepinwall, this review will start as soon as I learn how to speak in binary code ...

I've been ripped on this Web site numerous times for being critical of certain shows -- Big Bang Theory being chief among them. So with that said, I will begin by saying all the positive things I can think of regarding this episode ...

...
...
...

OK, I'm done.

But hey, on the bright side, they didn't spend half of the episode talking about whether or not Raj is gay when there are over 100 previous episodes firmly establishing that he is not.

So there's that.

It was a fair episode, I guess, but kind of strange in that almost the entire episode consisted of just Sheldon and Howard. There was about 30 seconds of Penny, and only a few scenes that really involved Leonard and Raj. Heck, Howard's mom's disembodied voice got more screen time than Penny. 

I liked the concept of Sheldon being Howard's slave and they got a few good laughs out of it, but that's all that happened in the episode. There was no "B" story to speak of, just 20 minutes of Sheldon sucking up to Howard.

NOTABLE QUOTABLE:

--BERNADETTE: "Sheldon doesn't know when he's being mean, because the part of his brain that should know is getting a wedgie from the rest of his brain."

RANDOM OBSERVATIONS:

--Any excuse to see Howard do his Hawking expression works for me.

--Didn't think I'd ever feel sorry for Sheldon. But hot damn! I did a little bit in that episode.

THE SCORE: 68 out of 100



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

Review - COMMUNITY 3.14: 'Pillows and Blankets'


As the saga of the fort war between Troy and Abed continues, a hero named Jeff arises from the feathery carnage of this terrible uncivil dispute.

In one of the greatest episodes in television history (though, isn't every episode of COMMUNITY one of the greatest episodes in television history?) that a huge portion of humanity didn't watch, nor will they watch because it isn't totally stupid, Greendale Community College is given the Ken Burns Civil War treatment as a documentary crew is at the college to film Troy's apparent record breaking fort, but instead end up documenting the course of events that led to the resolution of this nasty battlefield that no one at Electronic Arts or DICE had any hand in nerfing.

As anyone who has been paying attention to this show knows, any time there is a film crew on school grounds, things may not turn out well. In this case, things get worse before they get better.

Segment 1 - Introduction
The narrator (yes, that's Keith David from PLATOON, the Mass Effect games, and THE CAPE) describes those involved.

Segment 2 - "Community: Pillows and Blankets"
The Dean asks Jeff to mediate Troy and Abed's issues. He attempts to give them invisible friendship hats but they resist.

Segment 3 - "The Cause"
The narrator documents the events that caused the fort war.

Narrator: Troy Barnes and Abed Nadir, friends so close they once graced the cover of Friends Weekly, a pretend magazine of their own design. Earlier that day, they begin construction on a fort made of pillows. Its name, New Fluffytown. Its goal, to be a newer, fluffier town than Fluffytown, their blanket fort from the previous year.

Narrator: When an opportunity arises for a world record, it creates a rift. Troy wants to go for the record using blankets for rapid expansion. Abed insists on pillows, declaring world records to be 'dumb.' Troy declares the declaration lame, stating that 'thinking records are dumb is stupid.' He secedes from New Fluffytown and begins constructing Blanketsburg on the other side of the campus. Abed renames his fort Pillowtown for the sake of conceptual symmetry. Both forts expand until both are in each others way.

The start of the war is documented via cell phone cameras.

Segment 4 - "The All Tomato"
The mediation fails and Troy makes an ultimatum... I think.

Troy: The Legit Republic of Blanketsburg says Pillowtown has until midnight tonight to surrender its territory.
Abed: The United Forts of Pillowtown declines the request.
Troy: It's not a request. I'm giving you an all tomato. Meaning, that you give me the whole tomato, or else.

The narrator then explains how Pierce sides with Troy because Abed is weirder. That is until Troy appoints Shirley his second-in-command, after she joins to make sure Britta doesn't put him on the weed. This causes Pierce to join Abed.

At midnight Blanketsburg soldiers attack Pillowtown in the library. Pillowtown counter-attacks.

Narrator: The battle lasts six minutes. No territory changes hands.
Abed: (voice-over) Blanketsburg has drawn First Blood. Pillowtown will draw First Blood: Part II.
Troy: (addressing his troops over a PA) Citizens of Blanketsburg, I ask you now to prepare for war. And I ask Garrett to please fix the microphone on my laptop. It's doing that thing again (echo)!

Segment 5 - The War
The narrator describes the stalemate of the war as soldiers fight but make little headway. Britta acts as a combat photographer.
Narrator: Unfortunately for Britta, and millions of photographers like her, just because something is in black and white, doesn't mean it's good.

We see pictures of the results of battle and exhaustion. The narrator then tells us of Jeff's sudden transformation from cool-guy-who-doesn't-care to an inspirational leader.... who is just doing it to avoid school work.

Annie has become a nurse who tends to the war's casualties. Her back-and-forth texts with Jeff read like letters from the great war except with smiley faces and special icons you apparently have to pay for in the app store.

Meanwhile, Pierce approaches Abed with plans for a magnificent weapon. When Troy learns of this through his spy networks, he jumps into action, using Chang's insanity to his advantage. His troops attack.

Narrator: Chang has recruited an army of pre-teen security interns while moonlighting at a local Bar Mitzvah. They were later nicknamed the 'Changlourious Basterds,' like 'Inglourious Basterds' but with 'Chang' instead of 'In.' I don't get it either.

The Changlourious Basterds are like little pillow ninjas and no one can stop them. That is until Abed unleashes his doomsday device. Pierce's part-man, part-pillow, all-carnage suit of armor. Pierce successfully defeats Chang's fighters.
Abed: (voice-over) The war won't stop with First Blood Part II. It will escalate to Rambo III. Which should really be called Rambo 2: First Blood Part III. But the Rambo titles never made sense. And neither does war. Abed Nadir, Facebook status update.

Segment 6 - The War Continues
Annie and Jeff meet in the triage area because she's been ignoring his texts. She wants him to be more expressive and write his thoughts in a journal. Jeff seems willing as long as it means she will like him again.

When Troy's extremely capable spy network intercepts an email from Abed where he details Troys' weaknesses, it drives an even bigger wedge between the two roommates.

During a cease fire, Jeff summons the two to a secret meeting place to try to mend fences by talking about how their friendship used to be easy.

Abed: He's right. Our friendship is dead.
Jeff: What?
Troy: Yeah. I think we should agree right now that whoever wins this war can stay in the apartment. Loser has to find a new place.
Abed: Agreed (they both leave).
Jeff: Uhhhh... I wanted that to go different.

Segment 7 - "The Battle of Greendale"

After a confusing description of the battleground, the narrator finally gets us to the final battleground of the war: the Cafeteria. Where the Subway store is prominently displayed for all of us to see so that we get hungry and want some tasty sandwiches. It works. I'm hungry. DAMN YOU SUBWAY! By the way, I never got my free $100 gift card. I hate them now.

The battle is intense, with Shirley utilizing DICE's latest massive upgrade to the suppressive effect in the Battlefield 3 patch, rendering anyone she attacks at her mercy until she is done with them.

The battle finally ends when the Dean announces that the Guinness World Record dude isn't coming and that the fort battle is over. Everyone leaves except for Abed and Troy who continue to slowly beat on each other. Jeff tries to break it up but they continue anyway, because they believe it is the last thing they will ever do together (awwww).

Jeff fixes their friendship by retrieving the fake invisible friendship hats and placing them on Abed and Troy. The two are besties again. Annie thinks he pretended to be gone long enough for it to seem like he went all the way back to the Dean's office, but we discover he actually did and he then notes in a journal, which he then hands to the documentary team because when he does something good, he has to be recognized for it.

If I had to rate this episode, and Dan Harmon has promised to play a video of me dancing in the nude to a crowd of strangers if I don't, I'd give it:

97.4443 out of 100

An epic episode. Not full of laughs but full of genius. I feel sorry for every other show on last night for not being able to measure up. If you didn't love it, then perhaps you should have been watching the Idol results show. No thinky too muchy!



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

05 April, 2012

Geek Furious the Podcast Episode 15 - Josh Robert Thompson is the Lord of Geeks


In this super sized episode, we talk about the brilliant super genius talent that is Josh Robert Thompson. We also talk about Craig Ferguson, Tenacious D, CHUCK, GAME OF THRONES, summer movies, and Vlad's singing ability (or lack thereof)... plus more.

This is arguably the greatest podcast ever. Plus, you can settle an argument, that ends this podcast, in the comment section!

Click here for the Pokin' Around Podcast episode "Walking with George Lucas" discussed in this episode, and comment on their site and tell them GeekFurious sent ya!

Click below to play.


OR... RIGHT CLICK AND SAVE the MP3 version to your hard drive to do with as you please.

FINALLY, here is the NEW LINK to where you can subscribe to just this site's podcast. No longer mixed in with the ten others we did for that other site. It took a long time to re-upload them all but I love you guys so much! Mwuah! Remember that when you comment below about who is right about that end thing in the podcast. Oh and please rate it on iTunes since no one will have done it yet. Even if you hate it, rate it. Thanks.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

04 April, 2012

Guest Review of ARCHER Season 3: The Final Four


Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I present to you this site's first ever GUEST REVIEW, by Shawn Mahone. Written because I became super lazy at some point and kept putting off writing reviews for a show I love very much (hi, NEW GIRL!).

The final 4 episodes of season 3 form what can be seen as an arc of Archer learning that at times his narcissistic tendencies have dire consequences and to that end there are periods of him actually being a decent human being. Letting Jackoff die just so he could have the best fuck of his life hit him and I like that he let Katya go and be happy, he refused to fight Barry in the space station so that everyone could survive and so there were elements of serialization taking place akin to last season's Archer Cancer storyline. But of course Archer being Archer he quickly goes back to being a dick with the most funny moment having him crash the Intrepid and being the only one not injured, hehehe and taunting Ray, but more on that later. So let's Jump in to each episode and see where it takes us and just how much fun we can have.

Crossing Over
I love all the Archer characters but Pam's attitudes and actions will always put me on team Pam! All the characters have their faults...Pam is a gossip, Cheryl a nymphomaniac who has kinky sex and says the shittiest and nastiest things, Archers an asshole, Cyril a sex addict, Krieger is just a plain weirdo and Malory is just an awful mother, Ray is superficial and Lana is quite vein too but Pam I mean she just goes for what she wants, says what she wants and does what she wants and has no reservation or shame for being who she is and that is just fucking awesome!

So an episode that is Pam centric and also pays off in a wonderful way that she grew up on a farm gets at least a 90 for me! Pam and Archer hookup and it turns out that Pam is great at having sex, the two of them have great comedic chemistry and watching the combined shame and pure enjoyment of Archer doing the nasty with her had me in stitches every time they were on screen together. The fact that she said Archer's penis was not exactly big enough was funny as fuck simply because no other character would have the nerve to tell him that.

Bringing back both Jackoff and Barry shows that even for a cartoon Archer is fantastic with serialization and it picks up right where those two characters stories left off. The show keeps on teasing who Archers father is and I like that they addressed that in this episode (I personally do not care if they ever actually figure out who it is because it is so much fun not to know) and were going for it and they had the balls to kill off a character. Archer's conversations with Jackoff were both touching and fucking funny especially Archer noting that he is glad that he looks nothing like a fat and ugly slob like him, the hug was a nice touch. The moment Jackoff died you could see that Archer had regrets and it was a nice moment for the show to take seriously because it helps fans invest in something, Archer does care and can be more than just the season 1 asshole.

Barry has been doing a lot of damage to Archer lately, both physically and mentally. This will carry on in to the next episode but for this particular episode he starts to carry out this master plan which we do not find out about and kills Jackoff as a way to not only get rid of a threat at work but also to fuck with Archer. I am not sure what to think of Barry I mean his talking to himself as a third person never not gets a laugh or too but there seems to lack a depth to him apart from being Archers victim.

Stray Observations

- Cheryl getting strangled was hilarious as was her forgetting who Barry was, dynamite.

- Elaborate phone prank! still funny how Archer puts so much effort into doing those and the reactions of both Malory and Lana was fantastic.

- 50 I mean 40 thousand dollars! great call back from Tragical History by Ray. Those greedy/corrupt ISIS bastards that I love!

- “It's absinthe and milk.”

-“Whoo! I'm Pacman Jones!”

- “That's 150 gallons of Pam's hot, dirty, ball-slappin'...”

- “How you gonna keep 'em down on the farm, after they seen Pammy?”

-“You make me sound like some kind of Chupacabra, but for dicks.”

-“It's a DVD, a box of wine, some Hot Pockets, and off to bed.”

- “What? C'mon! You were pushin' rope!”

- “Who hunts dogs?” “Orientals, duh!”

Rating: 92/100

Skin Game
Skin game was ARCHER just being all out fucking weird! Starting off with the biggest weirdo being Dr Krieger's apartment, man was that place a shit hole and had all these odd and creepy experiments as well. So amid this plethora of nightmares was the bad Dr bringing back Archers dead fiancée back to life as a cyborg, so Archer being Archer dumps Pam and starts the process of remarrying Katya and having weird and kinky sex with a vagina that has great suction and vibrates, yikes!

The way the episode ended with Barry returning and having sex with Katya when they fight and then just having Archer accept it and go off in a Graduate style parody seemed all to nice and easy and so left me a little disappointed. I know that Barry and Katya had to leave so they could come back and so the show had to work something out but as a nice moment as it was for Archer to learn from the previous episode...I could accept Archer letting Katya go with someone else but Barry?

Other stuff happened but it mostly involved a lot of office bitching so no need to go into that.

Stray observations

- Will Krieger ever figure out how to play the drum part of Rush's "YYZ"? tune in next season to find out!

- Remember when I said that Archer being a human being is good and all? well him drinking Cyril's grandfathers scotch gotten from Frank Sinatra shows him at his most glorious and assholly.

- Bear Claw Monday!

- “I don't really have a roadmap for my ex finding your robo-gina in the sink.”

- “Bone... dancing.”

- “RoboCop: Pro or con?” “Neither!”

- “I had Korean barbecue for lunch. I cannot look at a Dr. Moreau pig-baby.”

Rating: 88/100

Space Race Part 1
Ok we finally made it to one of the best episodes the show will ever do and I firmly put this episode up with El Secuestro, Stage 2, The Limited, Lo Scandolo among others as what Archer does when it is cooking and man was this episode fucking cooking!

When a show brings in a famous guest star like Bryan Cranston the best episodes know how to use their guest stars effectively and cater the material specifically for them. Any Geek/Nerd with a pulse knows about Breaking Bad. The show is about a man's path into oblivion and how the people around him suffer mentally or physically or a combination of the two. Bryan Cranston plays Walter White, the man who finds out he has cancer and decides to partner up with a former student and cook drugs to provide for his family and I will not bore you with the details and assume as geeks/nerds know the rest...The episode "Fly" best demonstrates this in a beautiful moment, Jesse (Walt's partner) is standing on top of a ladder that is incredibly unstable trying to swat a fly while Walt is passing out, it is basically what the whole show is... framed beautifully...some poor bastard risking life and limb on one of Walt's half assed notions of spotting a fly in the lab that could contaminate their product. Everyone character on Breaking Bad basically does crazy stupid shit because Walt White wants to feel important, who wants to have things his way because he refuses to compromise because he is a petty vindictive and evil bastard (all be it a magnificent bastard) and this show has had some wonderful moments of clarity when Walt shows his true colors and lets us marinate in the moment..."Stay out of my territory", " I am the one who knocks!", "I Won!".

So all of this is to say remember everything you know about Breaking Bad because in their own way ARCHER paid a tremendous tribute to a wonderful actor and a wonderful show in a balls out fucking funny as shit episode. So here we go!

First of all let's just get it out the way and say it! Step aside "Stay out of my territory", know your place " I am the one who knocks!" and just bow down "I Won!" because there is a new kid in town and that is "Welcome to the DANGAAAAA ZONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" . All episode long Archer tries to get Cranston (Drake) to say Danger Zone and all episode Drake just ignores him or acts like he does not know what the fuck Archer is going on about. It is only when Drake reveals his plan and purses his lips and lets out the Danger Zone that we finally realize that he has been playing Archer and the whole ISIS gang all along, it is a glorious line reading and considering that Archer has been saying Danger Zone for 3 seasons they saved it for the best guest star they have ever had to Danger Zone Archer! PERFECT! That moment makes me hope they never top the moment because it was so beautiful.

Ok in the beginning of the episode an urgent message from Captain Kellogg on the Horizon (the space ship) that they are under attack and need help. So Cranston is there to ask ISIS for help in taking the ship back from the mutineers. The opening salvo lets you know just how great this episode is going to be, there is a great callback to how Archer really is a racist (Boondocks!), how every American probably hates the French (Badum Bum...sorry, I thought French was a joke!), Space exploration being a Boondoggle (waste of time and money) and the start of the great running gag...READ A BOOK! the dialogue is witty and brilliant.

So we now know that like Walter White, Drake is taking the ISIS crew into space on one of his half assed notions of creating a living environment on MARS! I still cannot believe they did this, totally fucking awesome.

After the opening credits Dr Krieger has one of the funniest scenes ever where he basically gives Archer like 12 Enemas just for his own sick pathology. Once I found out what an Enema was I cannot watch that scene without being in tears, good times!

The vomit comet was brilliant, H Jon Benjamin was fantastic in saying "Space Weightlessness!" and him riding Cyril through the vomit was awesome! Lana not being good at something was good for a great laugh. Archer admitting accidently that he spent 15 years in boarding school was priceless. Already people (mostly Lana) are starting to suffer from Drakes single minded need to get what he wants and it only gets better. Lana admits that she cannot go to Mars because to be honest she cannot physically handle it and Drake just over rides her (because that is what Walt and Cranston does so well!) and sets up the perfect line for an amused Archer..."That s too bad Agent Kane because you're going!", Archer "To a zone, one of danger, ha ha" The excitement in Benjamin's voice sells just how much this amuses Archer.

The launch of the Intrepid was fantastic including two great visual gags. The first being Malory being too small for her suit and only seeing her bulging eyes during takeoff and then Drake switching off Archers Oxygen supply and basically calling him out for being an asshole. I loved how all episode long Drake did not take any shit from Archer and called him out for it and maintained that single minded drive to get to Mars.

Once in space the ISIS crew realize that they are off course because Archer stowed away Pam and Cheryl (basically Pam's weight causing the issues and Archer wanting her around for sex). Archer shooting Pam and Cyril with the stun gun was fantastic and I assumed he had an erection.

The attack on the Horizon mutineers was great especially Archer kicking space pirates ass! They make it to Captain Kellogg (the first black astranaught!) and we come to the greatest line reading in Archer history where we learn that Drake and his crew are the mutineers and they bought Lana along to create a new world on Mars. Welcome to the Danger Zone indeed!

Stray Observations

A fantastic episode that was not only masterfully plotted and executed but was beautiful to look at. I know that I have been basically kissing ARCHERS ass for like 3 episode reviews but respect must be given to a show that is this funny and this well planned out and this well executed and just this fucking awesome. Shows like Fringe never attempt to get their characters right or their plot or their narrative, it is disjointed and shitty and frustrating as hell. Whereas Archer (for a cartoon) pays incredible attention to detail and actually has respect for their fans intelligence and sense of taste. Archer lives in the past and present the references could be from the 60's (slide rules and Tang) or current (Space exploration in this economy?) and yet they respect us enough to just expect us to understand what is going on, there is no need for shitty dialogue that plagues lesser shows like Fringe or other network bullshit out there. The read a book line at the end was great because ARCHER does put in some obscure references (see they expect us to have the intelligence to understand said reference, SEE, Respect!) and so Archer calling the guy Davenport the father of Eugenics was brilliant especially when the guy did not know what it meant.

Bryan Cranston is fucking awesome as one would expect and him being here just shows how much respect he has for this show and the people on it, if you read any of his interviews or listen to any of the Breaking Bad podcast you will know that he can be very picky on what roles he takes on. He likes hard working actors and a crew that knows their shit and is very dedicated to what they do and him being here tells you that I am not alone in knowing that Archer has had 2 bordering on 3 banner seasons of television.

Rating: 99/100

Space Race Part 2
This episode is only slightly down on the previous one but only slightly. Cranston is again terrific in showcasing Drake going more and more insane (ala Walter White) in trying to live his crazy assed dream of colonizing Mars and he keeps on saying crazier and crazier shit and ultimately kills himself when he knows his dreams are dying. Archer knowing what Animal Farm was is brilliant and yet again it is a moment where the show is referencing the 60's/70's and yet being in the present that tests a fans intelligence in the best possible way. When Archer goes on and on about Kellogg being the first black man in space I kept thinking that it is 2012 and that is not a bid deal but they could be commentating on America's poor history with regards to African Americans in the 60's and before so that was awesome. Cheryl hating babies is never not funny especially if they have to crawl out of their vagina's, her being just as crazy as Drake is a treat because at its heart all of ISIS are fucking assholes and are unaware just how well they fit into Drakes plans. Archer with a towel shows that being from a boarding school has its advantages as does the payoff to Cyril knowing how to land the intrepid.

Malory did not have a huge part but that is fine. I loved that Archer for a moment put his ego aside to let the ISIS crew escape and this Barry lives to fight another day. But of course Archer being Archer has to be an asshole and tries to land the Intrepid and it made me laugh that when he realised that he had fucked up he let Cyril take over and blamed him for the crash. Malory being Malory stopped health benefits and Ray is back in a wheel chair, wonderful. I for selfish reasons hope that Ray is out of the chair next season because he is an excellent character and is great in the field. Archer noting that Ray already had a chair and need not be pissed was fantastic and had me in tears. Archer is such an asshole, but him being an asshole is what makes us root for him that much harder.

Stray Observations

There is an argument that this season has been just as good as season 2 and far be it for me to disagree. The limited was an episode that will go down as one of the best episodes of 2012 due to it being top to bottom awesome. The pirate episodes were fantastic as was Burt Reynolds starring role, production values have been fantastic and one can tell that Reed and Co have been given a bigger budget this season and they have used it well. The space episodes were beautiful, the train episode was wonderful and the massive car chase in 3.04 was just balls out cheesy and wonderful in every aspect. What I love about Archer is that it can embrace its owns idiocy and cheesiness and say fuck it and go all out and that is best exemplified in a great Burt Reynolds car chase. When a show looks at all the things critics and network execs say will kill a show (smart dialogue, serialization, asshole characters that an average fan would not root for) and looks death in the face and says whatever man! you know they are on a path to greatness and Archer is up there for me with Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Homeland, Justified, etc. This is a lesson to all TV execs out there and thank fuck for FX, take chances and go for it people you will not be disappointed in the results, put your heart out there and let everyone enjoy the wonders that are Sterling Archer and co...you may never know this but a fan will give you his heart back!

Rating: 95/100

Season Rating: 98/100

HGF: Thanks, Shawn! I now may have to fire one of these lazy bastages who normally write for this site, trend setter!



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE