12 March, 2012

The Walking Dead 2.12: Better Angels


The penultimate episode delivers an epic showdown and more strong character beats to lead us into a season-ending last stand.

With the end approaching its worth noting that one thing the second half of Season 2 has accomplished, likely due to the internal shenanigans, is building its characters into individuals worth caring about. Tonight I liked the scene between Glenn and Andrea; two characters who often don't get to interact much, but who clearly shared the greatest bond over the now absent Dale.

Other big improvements included the group's decision to move inside and fortify the farmhouse and their decision to go ahead with drop and dash plan with Randall. The one thing dramatic character deaths are good for is motivation. Lori's talk with Shane perplexed me a bit, but in the context of the whole episode it seems like it was certainly a set up for Shane's breakdown at the end. I also liked Carl’s scenes with Shane and Rick which showed how truly the survivors must leave behind the ways and laws of the old world. The culmination of having him be the one to execute zombie Shane was a fitting final nail in the transformation.

Obviously the biggest events in this episode came toward the end. My one problem with the episode was the decision to go wandering off in the woods (at night no less) looking for Randall, which seems totally illogical in light of their recent security crackdown. Randall, even by Rick’s own admission in the episode, is basically an undernourished, sniveling kid with a bum leg, who is unlikely to make it in the zombie filled swamps on his own (even with Shane’s favorite piece!). It also risked the lives of both Daryl and Glenn who are probably my two favorite characters, so I was a bit unhappy with that. Rick and Shane’s show down went on a bit long for me despite its significance. I could have done with one or two less minutes of Rick trying to convince Shane not to shoot him, when it was clear that was how things would end one way or another.

The transformation of Shane and Randall opens up a whole new chapter in the mythology of the zombie disease and how it spreads. I am at a loss on this one, especially since we haven’t seen zombie Dale wandering around. It would almost seem to be related to the morality of the characters (Shane was clearly crazy and Randall didn’t exactly seem to have the highest moral standards since he was living with a gang of rapists). On the other hand its clear that the virus still spreads via bites/scratches (Sophia presumably), so based on copious movie and television experience I’m gonna say its mutating possibly? Changing its characteristics to account for dwindling human population to feed off/transform? Either way I intrigued to hear what peoples thoughts are on it.

If I had to rate this episode I would give it a 93 out of 100

I didn’t quite like it as much as last weeks, but its hard to complain since the episode tied up a lot of loose ends and set things up well for the finale next week. It did pretty much everything a pre-finale episode should do and kept things moving quickly.

Notables
- So the Shane mouth-breathing was deliberate foreshadowing this week?
- Carl making that shot at the end was remarkable considering it looked like his hands were shaking the whole time
- Maggie; shot down again! Also, would have thought Glenn would have jumped at the chance not to sleep in the living room with T-Dog and Hershel.



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

09 March, 2012

The Big Bang Theory 4.19 -- The Weekend Vortex


In my two reviews (found HERE and HERE) for The Big Bang Theory, I've been pretty critical of the show and the down season I believe it's had.

While many of my frustrations of Season 4 persist, I thought "The Weekend Vortex" did some nice things with Sheldon, while also re-affirming why I've always liked this show.

As the show got more and more popular, it seemed to get less and less nerdy/geeky to draw a more diverse audience to the show. Which is understandable, but at the same time disappointing because it changed the tenor of the show a little bit.

This week's episode was a throwback of sorts with the guys all hanging out, playing games, talking about Star Wars, making stupid jokes and burning on one another. I always found the show more amusing when they were pathetic geeks who were perpetually alone and couldn't even dream about having a girlfriend that wasn't Leslie Winkle (and judging by Raj's freak-out at the end of the episode, it appears that he longs for those days, too).

But now that Leonard, Sheldon and Howard are involved with women on the show (to varying degrees), it's interesting and important to the show to see how those stories are dealt with. At this point, it's just essentially same old, same old regarding Leonard and Penny and Howard and Bernadette, but it's good to see Sheldon's character evolving a bit.

Who knew that it would take a weekend of video games, junk food and sleeping bags to turn Sheldon into a real man?

I enjoyed him trying to wiggle out of the relationship agreement so he could ditch Amy -- it was like watching a normal human being be a douche to his girlfriend. He's still Sheldon, but he's starting to evolve -- be it ever so slowly -- into a typical dude. And as the older Sheldon probably never would have realized that he was acting like an ass or just not care, he seemed genuinely sorry afterwards.

Just an overall entertaining episode that demonstrates the best of what this show has to offer.

NOTABLE QUOTABLE:

LEONARD: "Clear your weekend, starting Saturday morning. Starwars marathon."
SHELDON: "Movies or videogames? Or boardgames? Or trading card games? Or legos? Or dress-up? Or comic books? Or dramatic readings of novelizations? Yes to all!"

RANDOM OBSERVATIONS:

--It took me over 100 episodes to fully realize how much taller Sheldon is over everyone else on this show.It's crazy.

--Why did I laugh EVERY TIME that the "whip app" was used? I gotta download that shit.

--I enjoyed Raj's rant at the end, but it reminds me of why I don't like his character: he reminds me of me. This is not a compliment to myself.

SCORE: 84 out of 100



CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

08 March, 2012

COMMUNITY Returns 15 March, 2012 - THE TRAILER!


I am so excited! Arguably the best half-hour comedy of ALL TIME returns next week and here is the badass trailer that will make you squee like a little girl and share it with 12,000 of your closest Nielsen family friends (even though that would be impossible). Click on the thing below and enjoy the "Community Returns Trailer"!






CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE

07 March, 2012

Review - BREAKING IN 2.01: 'The Contra Club'


So this FOX show, that was apparently dead in the water, got picked up... somehow. Perhaps one of the producers has a compromising photo of the entire executive group in an orgy. I don't know.

There have been a couple of changes since season 1 and one of them is good and the other is horrible.

First the good. Megan Mullally joins as Veronic, the organization's new owner. She is always fun, so I imagine she will be a good addition. Though, I wonder if her character will always be so over-the-top dramatic.

Now the horrible. Michael Rosenbaum's inability to just stick with shit strikes again as he is no longer on the show. That's too bad since he was actually the best thing on it.

As for the episode, it revolves around the gang realizing that Oz is selling the company and their reaction to it, as well as to Veronica. Not much else happens, except for a quick little mission. I guess the show had massive budget cuts so they had to shoot a lot of sitting around and talking. That wouldn't be so bad if the dialogue was more interesting or the characters funnier.

Perhaps we will get more spy missions and more interesting dialogue with future episodes. And perhaps the show will gain enough viewers to increase the budget so they can entice Rosenbaum to come back for a big payday.

Just one quotable moment worth mentioning:

Oz: I'm broke, Cam.
Cameron: What are you talking about? You drive a Mazerati. You fly to China to get appetizers. You own a white tiger!
Oz: I'm not saying I'm unhappy, I's saying I'm broke.

If I had to rate this episode, and I don't really want to, I'd give it:


70 out of 100

Blah, blah, and blah.




CLICK TO READ THIS ARTICLE